The jerk tank and why you don’t piss off a blogger

This weekend I had the misfortune to be in a group with this guy for heroic Oculus.  Now from what I have heard, most people drop group the moment they see it is Oculus.  Since I had never done it on my mage I hoped that the group would stay.  Well I got lucky in that everyone stayed.  I was unlucky with the tank.  *sigh*

Before I start any instance I like to scan over the people I am with to gauge what kind of run I am going to get.  The tank and the rogue were very well geared.  The resto druid, the hunter and myself were fresh 80s gear.  No prob, we could do it.  Before we started the hunter apologized and had to AFK really quick, no biggie, we told him we could wait.  Everyone but the tank stayed and waited for the hunter to come back.  The tank decided he was going to get the party started and ran into the first pile of mobs.  The rest of us had no choice but to follow him.  As we started AoEing the crap out of the whelplings the hunter came back and joined us in the AoE storm.

The first part of the instance is fairly straightforward, you run down the row and dps the mobs.  Afterwards it can get slightly confusing if you have never been there before.  The hunter and the druid had never been there before.

We killed the first boss, who btw is a huge PITA for casters >.>, and the tank, the rogue and myself mounted up on drakes.  The druid had no idea what to do and ended up picking a ruby drake.  The poor hunter was totally lost.  The tank starts in on them and calls them retards and said that we were in for a ride because the retards don’t know shit.  I piped up and told him to cut it out.  I told the druid to get on a green drake and explained to the hunter how to get an amber drake.  Before the hunter could even mount up the tank was off to where he was going to have us start.  I tried to help the hunter find us, but he somehow got killed.  The tank kept berating him the entire time.  The hunter zoned back in, apologized and dropped group.

The tank of course was the party leader and so he queued us up for another dps.  We got another hunter.  I let him know where we were and we continued to dps the mobs down.

In the absence of the newbie hunter the tank starts in on the tree.  He starts calling her a retard and saying “I have such a fail healer.  What the fuck are you doing spamming healing touch?”  I stood up for the healer and said she was probably a fresh 80 and hadn’t gotten her healing rotation down.  I then told the tree, “My main is a resto druid.  Your best healing rotation is to put 1 or 2 HoTs up on the target then spam Nourish if you need bigger heals.”  She thanked me then dropped group.

Then the tank started in on me and my dps.  I was doing 1800-2000 btw.  Started going off about how bad my dps was and how he was doing double mine, he was doing 2600.  I said “First of all we were NOT over geared and were doing quite well for our gear levels.  Secondly you are an asshole.”  I then put him on ignore and dropped group.  I still can’t believe I put up with that for as long as I did.

So to all of you on the Ruin battlegroup, if you get this guy drop group and take the 15 min wait time.  Or better yet, put him on ignore, THEN drop group.  I want this jerk to never get a good group again.  There is NO REASON to treat people like that ever.

Also, if you are a jerk I will totally call you out on it and tell the small corner of the Internet that reads my blog.

Asshole.

33 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Twitted by theeriver
  2. lissanna
    Dec 28, 2009 @ 13:37:45

    If you are in that battlegroup, you can actually just put him on ignore so you never group with him in the first place. :)

    Reply

  3. Splat
    Dec 28, 2009 @ 13:42:27

    Alas, my ignore list is full. :(

    Reply

    • koalabear21
      Dec 28, 2009 @ 13:53:02

      Don’t forget to go through and clean out the old stuff from there.

      I tend to put a lot of trade chat morons on ignore so I have to go through and clean out those people

      Reply

  4. Nochecazador
    Dec 28, 2009 @ 14:00:06

    Excellent. Thanks for doing this. Being a total butt hole is not acceptable.

    Reply

  5. MartyrdHavok
    Dec 28, 2009 @ 14:28:42

    Not on the Ruin battlegroup but that’s one of the reasons I will never raid. People like that. But hey, somewhere else you can put up a warning about him at and help everyone else out too. We need more word of mouth about this place. http://wowjackass.com/ Basically, you put in the person’s name, realm and why he’s a “jackass” and post. In a short amount of time the information is there for everyone to see. Hopefully if the word of mouth gets out more, people will know to check here during PuGs.

    Reply

    • Anna
      Dec 28, 2009 @ 14:55:28

      I raid with a group of people, none of whom would pull a stunt like this.

      Being a raider does not make one an asshat, nor does being a PVPer, a member of a guild, guildless, or whatever else. This guy was a first rate jerk, and as such, should be ignored. Whether or not he is part of a raid group is totally irrelevant unless you want to join that group.

      Reply

    • koalabear21
      Dec 28, 2009 @ 15:14:57

      I added him ^_^

      Thanks for the reminder of this site

      Reply

  6. Avalonna
    Dec 28, 2009 @ 15:26:01

    Ah yes, I myself am in the Ruin Battle group. You meet all kinds…good, bad, and really fucking ugly. We’re lucky to be on the server with This Tool http://bit.ly/7bZyKR. Really, if you see anyone from the Legends guild of Bloodhoof, they’re made of bitter has-beens and utter crap like this.

    We actually started a thread called The Scrub PuB http://bit.ly/8vb1su for people like this. We used to have a huge 20 page thread similar to it on the ‘Hoof forums, but it ended up being deleted. Feel free to share your stories of the mentally challenged and assholes alike there.

    I hate how people act. I myself snapped at a hunter yesterday for pestering me on my warrior for an entire instance to trade him my tanking weapon, and I feel bad (kinda). No one thinks you’re ‘leet’ because you scream and yell at the less experienced or undergeared. They’ll just think you’re a jackass. But if you take a few minutes and offer them some friendly advice…I bet they’ll remember you for a long time.

    Reply

    • koalabear21
      Dec 28, 2009 @ 15:29:54

      Yeah I found the link from your RT, thanks btw :D

      So far I’ve been laughing my ass off on those posts.

      I really do try to help the new players. It is ultimately a multiplayer game and people cannot get better until they learn a better way to do things.

      I hope I was able to help that tree. I do feel bad that I couldn’t help the hunter more.

      Reply

  7. David W.
    Dec 28, 2009 @ 15:42:50

    You know what I hate more then a tank that mouths off and is a jerk, a tank that doesn’t say anything and just pulls and pulls and pulls. Being a mage, you have to stop A LOT to drink. So I just ignore the tank so it doesn’t throw me back into the same group again.

    Reply

  8. Avalonna
    Dec 28, 2009 @ 15:43:39

    Arioch does have a point as well. While there are players that really appreciate good, non-condescending advice, a larger percentage have no interest in what you have to say. I call it the ” X Box Live” attitude, which is basically “Screw you, I know what I’m doing”. At one point in this game, if you were horrible, you either learned how to play and get some help, or you did nothing. Now you can be a 71 point Survival hunter with Strength gems and defense weapons and still see all the content and get the gear. Why should they listen? Apparently what they’re doing is working, right?

    Bah, I went off on a tangent. Ignore that. You do catch more flies with honey, and I do start off nice. I don’t care if we wipe a few times because of honest mistakes or someone’s new. I don’t care if you’re in my heroic in level 200 gear – that’s more than good enough. And I don’t care if the tank has 25K health either….honestly, it keeps me as a healer alert, and I like to see people get upgrades. BUt if someone is an ignorant ass like that, or some “Scrub” that won’t listen & repeatedly wipes the group….you’re getting my kick vote. And then you go in the Scrub Pub for the world to see.

    Reply

    • koalabear21
      Dec 28, 2009 @ 16:04:38

      I do the same unless I see it is getting me nowhere, then I either shut up or leave if it is that bad.

      I have tried to keep my group leaving to when people are totall ass-hats.

      It usually happens on my druid. I’m sorry but you shouldn’t be an asshole to your healer. Especially if you want them to stay in group and heal your ass.

      I see your guild around Dalaran all the time. I will pop you guys a wave when I see you next. :)

      Reply

  9. David W.
    Dec 28, 2009 @ 17:23:56

    I am not yet 80 on my mage, so drinking is an issue for me. No awesome sauce mana pool :(

    Reply

    • Dilynrae
      Dec 29, 2009 @ 16:19:21

      Yeah I’ve got about 15.5k mana on my 80 mage (she’s still only T7/Heroic geared) and I have to drink on her fairly often. Most mages with the 20k+ mana pools (and considerably higher mana regen) would not have this issue.

      Reply

  10. Chaanii
    Dec 29, 2009 @ 10:43:23

    I saw this on Twitter and just had to post! This just happened last night, but it’s along the same vein. Just warning you, it’s a long post!

    I have a 71 DK that I’m raising to be a tank on Feathermoon, and I wanted to get the Adamantine Figurine from Shadow Labs before I started tanking in Northrend. So here I was in my 7th attempt to get it and the instance pops me in as DPS. Switch gear and check my presence, no problem. That’s why I queue as both, because I can.

    We get a 69 pally as tank, and I let everyone know my background that I usually tank, but it pulled me in as DPS this time, but I’m capable of tanking if the pally doesn’t want to and that I’m here for the figurine. Pally doesn’t say anything and just starts pulling. Not just the single mob that pats the entrance, mind you, but all the mobs in the far corner AND the two groups to the left of the entrance! He can’t hold agro and I’m finding myself taunting off the casters. Mobs are running everywhere and we almost wipe on the first “pull”.

    Of course afterwards, he’s going off with “Now THAT’s how you clear a room!”

    You can just feel the rest of the group going all “shifty eyes” in their seats!

    We make it to the first door with all the imps, and he pulls both sets of imps from across the aisle and doesn’t get good agro so the healer is starting to take fireballs. I drop a death and decay to keep the heat off the healer (no pun intended, but strangely appropriate), and end up dying but the rest of the group survives, mission accomplished. However he grabs the last group in the corner before I can be rezzed. -_-;;

    Room is clear finally and he runs off to the next room while I’m being rezzed. We get there in time to see him already pulling the groups around the pillars. Except he isn’t pulling, he’s fighting them at the pillars. >.>

    After I recover from my *facedesk*, I switch to frost presence as his proximity to the felguard pat pulled it and we get
    feared into the other two sets of mobs! And another Pat too!

    It’s a testiment to the healer we only lost one person on that pull. Never the less I decide to switch into tank mode entirely and swap gear as well. I start tanking behind the tank to keep control of the agro and you can tell there is a difference in how things are going already, even if he’s supposed to be tanking. But of course he pulls everything near the boss and doesn’t pull back so the last mob goes down and the boss pulls immediately on us. I grab initial agro as the pally is out of position and the shaman was about to have her face eaten. Boss goes down and we get ready for Blackheart’s room.

    This room has not only the tall six armed pats roaming the room, but groups of 4-6 mobs that pull at once. Again he pulls the pat, AND two groups, and then there is the inevitable wipe. Grumblings are heard and I offer to tank but he won’t have anything to do with it. We finish the groups at the entrance and then I see him making a bee line for the boss! “STOP!” doesn’t help… Boss pulls… All mobs remaining
    in the room pull with the boss… Everyone is in combat so we can’t pull back and point and laugh… Wipe again. *crai*

    Enough is enough. “I’m tanking! Apparently you don’t know this instance.” Short discussion about how maybe people forget, and I say that he can use it as a refresher on the instance. Surprisingly he doesn’t argue and falls in line behind me. Clear one half of room and you can feel the tension in the air has lifted! This was fun again! Other half of room, I wait for pat to leave then pull group. Must not have been fast enough for him as the pat that was out of agro range is coming too, and guess who’s closest to the pat… The pally. *grumble*.

    “Do NOT help with pulls, please!”

    Oh well, one more pull, then boss. Kill mobs. Wait for mana, which earns me a couple of thank you’s from the shaman and priest. Pull boss, kill boss, and thank the gods the Figurine drops! I NEED with a short prayer of thanks, and we get this on the chat window: “Dude WTF? Why you need?”

    Everyone else in the group piped up with “Thats what she said she was here for…” (It’s great to be loved!) Need rolls happen and I win it! (Yay!) …And then the trade window opens… >.>

    “Dude, I should get that. I’m prot specced!”

    So much I wanted to say at that point… I ended up saying “Then run this 7 times.” to which he replies “I ran it 10 times! Why you be hatin’?” (Sure he ran it 10 times.. that’s why he pulled the boss before clearing the room!)

    The rest of the group says “Looked like a valid roll to me…” (Did I mention how good it feels to be loved?).

    Move on to next room and he bails out. Finally! Pick up a hunter with less dps, but we had no more problems after that!

    Healer was on my server and we chatted a bit after we finished, and she added me because I was “…so awesome!”

    Yeah, this guy was bad and we should have voted to kick him, but I was hoping he’d learn from example, and figure out it’s all about control. Control agro and you control the mobs. You control the mobs, and you can make them do what you want them to do. Namely, Die! And Don’t pull more than you can control.

    Basically, it takes more than a spec and gear to be a good tank. Or any role for that matter.

    So that’s the story. I hope you found the time to read that whole thing! And I hope it entertained you somewhat. This wasn’t the first time something like this has happened, and it won’t be the last. :-/ But somehow we’ll get through it and hopefully we can all learn from the experience. Thank you all for your time.

    Good Journeys to you!

    Reply

    • koalabear21
      Dec 29, 2009 @ 10:51:49

      That was awesome! If I was your healer I would have added you as well. I read somewhere that the new people were learning that mass pulling is the way to do dungeons and they won’t listen otherwise.

      I was in a heroic Old Kingdom last night with a new tank. We kept trying to help him and told him what he needed to do in that instance. He of course didn’t listen and several people kept dying because I just couldn’t keep everyone alive. It was that bad. Finally when the run was over I stayed in the group to talk to him when everyone else left and gave him some tips. He seemed responsive, but that could just be wishful thinking on my part.

      Keep up the good work and thanks again for the great comment!

      Reply

    • Dilynrae
      Dec 29, 2009 @ 16:06:26

      Tanks like this and koalabear have described are a growing trend.. pull the entire room, then piss and moan if everyone can’t keep up oe whine if the group wipes. The guild that Koalabear and I are part of are used to taking things a bit more leisurely. Yes it might take us another 5-10 minutes to finish the instance, but guess what, NO ONE is gonna die unless we happen to get feared into an extra pack of two of mobs. And frankly I would rather take the few extra minutes running an instance and NOT having a larger repair bill because of getting faceplanted due to stupidity. Now there have been groups I have been a part of that moving at Mach 3 we did fine with no wipes or anyone dying, but those groups are VERY rare.

      I understand people want to run as many instances as possible in the shortest amount of time. But when truth be told, it takes the exact same amount of time slowing down a bit as it does to res and rebuff or recover from a wipe. Sadly most people won’t agree, and even IF it was a couple minutes faster is it really worth shelling out all that extra gold for repairs to save a couple minutes?

      A several gold per repair adds up to alot when you think how many instances you run in a day.

      And truth be told, EVERY instance I have ever been in, unless the tank or healer were not properly geared has resulted in fewer if any deaths at all versus the RUSH RUSH RUSH attitude displayed by alot of the people in pugs these days.

      Reply

  11. Avalonna
    Dec 30, 2009 @ 10:37:23

    What’s wrong with drunk priests? :D

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

