Huzzah

So I know that most of people raiding have roflstomped their way through ToGC and are completely done with ICC and think that EoF is silly for still raiding ToC.  Well screw you people.  We don’t exactly get to raid 7 nights a week, nor do we have oodles of people available to raid either.

With that done with, I want to say how happy and excited I am for Echo of Fate.  Saturday is our progression raiding night.  It was looking dismal for the raid actually going off.  We had 2 people signed up other than myself and I was tempted to not even log in.  Andrew was over at my apartment with his aunt.  We were doing our damnedest to get her hooked on WoW so she would come play with us.  I think we succeeded ^_^b.  I logged in really quick to see what the general feeling was for raiding and found several people who hadn’t been online in a while.  They were eager to raid.  Andrew called Kate and she needed about 30 mins before she was home from work.  All told we only needed to find 3 people to make a 10 man.  We nabbed Andrew’s roommate Justin and a rogue and warlock from trade.

Now we have a really difficult time with NRB.  Even with 3 healers.  Well this was the first time we had ran with Kate on her Disc priest.  I put her on Andrew (who came on his pally tank) and put Vel on our guildie Auralio who was another pally tank.  This left me with the raid and back up for the tanks.  Vel was also back up raid heals.

We headed in, fought valiantly and died to the worms.  I fucking hate those worms.  No biggie, we ran back in, rebuffed and charged back in.  Lo and behold we managed to kill all of them and still have like 6 people standing.  That alone was enough to make me one happy camper.  The previous times we had gone into ToC we just ended up banging our heads against the wall that is NRB.  The fact that we only wiped once on them was serious cause for celebration.  The cherry on top was the fact that we continued through and one shot every other boss in the instance. ^_^b

Ness had to leave after the faction champs, which were pretty easy for us again, so we had to bring in another person.  The rogue pulled wife aggro and had to leave too.  The warlock we nabbed from trade had a hunter friend who was willing to come in and help and a warlock I knew from helping him with a LW thingy was online.  I had no clue if the warlock would be geared enough, or even know what he was doing.  Turns out he was more than geared and topped the charts, as demonology.  He apparently hadn’t been in ToC for a very long time and didn’t know the fights.  I reassured him (and the other warlock for that matter) that this was a learning run and we would explain everything before we started the fights.  The hunter that was brought in was an experienced raider and was awesome about helping us with explaining the fights.  He also had this really awesome voice.  Not quite Barry White, but awesome along those lines.  His voice had Vel singing in guild chat, which was hilarious in its own right.

I won this and got all excited about the delicious haste.  Only to have the final boss drop this.  I let the warlock have it and I kept mine.  8 haste wasn’t enough to make a stink about.  Plus mine had a blue socket which means I could put a spirit gem in there.  Delicious spirit.  Andrew got several nice upgrades for his pally tank.  That made me happy that we kind of forced him to come tank instead of pugging one.  Dily wasn’t online so his shadow priest missed out on the dagger that he has been jonesing over.  He came online like 15 mins after we completed ToC.  Just bad timing.

When we finished ToC we were still all gung-ho and wanted to go do some more stuff.  It was fairly early for the east coasters and so I suggested we go and try Ony.  Everyone was on board, except for Justin, but since he refused to get into vent it was his own damn fault.  Luckily Dily came online at that exact time (as I mentioned above) and we made our way to Ony’s lair.

Normally when we do raids we somehow always have nothing but melee dps.  I don’t know how it ended up happening this time, but we only had one melee dps and it was our enhancement shammy Shavok.  This sort of posed a problem with the adds in Onyxia’s room, but the hunter suggested we put Dily on his shadow priest to help with the mobs.  We didn’t have anyone to disarm the mobs either.  I guess MM hunters can do it, but this guy said it would cause too many problems with his rotation on the boss.  So we just dropped it and didn’t keep arguing with him.

Considering this was EoF first venture into Onyxia we gave a damn good showing.  We walked in and one shot her.  Yes we had 2 deaths towards the beginning of the fight, but I b-rezzed Shavok, since we needed him back up more so than the dead warlock.  I think we had only one or 2 more deaths by the time we were done.  She dropped a caster dagger that was a downgrade for everyone and a warrior chest piece, we had no warriors, and the priest helmet.  Both priests in the group had the 245 helm, sooooo Ony’s helm wasn’t worth anything.  I think Auralio won the bag, I won the jewel and Kate won Ony’s head.  I was kind of bummed that there was only jewel in the bag, but it was a blue one and I needed that for my new staff, so all was good. :D

We called it after that, said goodbye to our new friends.  We might end up recruiting the warlock and possibly the hunter.  The warlock didn’t have a guild since he had been out of the game for a long time, but was unsure about joining us.  I hope he changes his mind.  We don’t have a destro lock and he really didn’t do too badly of a job.  The hunter most likely wont join us because our raiding times are too late for him, but he said he was free to help us with raids whenever we had a free spot.  The same went for the demo lock.  Nice to have people back on my friend’s list that I know are good guys.

We ended up doing several randoms for our frost badges then most everyone crashed out for the night.  Auralio and Shavok are pretty sure they will be able to make this next week’s Saturday raid.  They are in the Air Force so they don’t always know what their schedule will be like.  This was the first time I had seen either of them online in a few weeks.  They are part of our core raiding team so it is kind of hard to get a full raid together when we are missing them.

We all started talking after the raid broke up about how they want to give heroic ToC a shot.  I would really like to give it a try.  I am a little worried about the NRB fight though.  If we are having this much trouble in regular, I’d hate to see how many problems we will have in heroic.  However, I want to progress and in order to go knock on Arthas’ door, we need some more items from ToGC.  I changed the raid for Saturday to reflect that we “might” do heroic.  I am keeping my fingers crossed that we can pull it off.  Wish us luck guys! :D

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nitedragon
    Jan 11, 2010 @ 09:49:01

    Gratz. hope you guys can handle ToGC.

    Reply

    • koalabear21
      Jan 11, 2010 @ 09:56:49

      I think we will be able to. The healing team was top notch ;-) and our dps was doing a great job.

      Pally tanks are just OP atm so I think those guys will be doing just great. :D

      Reply

  2. rustbeard
    Jan 11, 2010 @ 10:02:36

    Gratz on the one-shotting. And don’t kid yourself, my first forray into ToC was last night. What started out to be a badge run against Lord J turned into a “lets just do the whole dang thing.” We did have 2 overgeared tanks, and healed with 2 trees (one a pug). Most of the DPS was new to the instance. We one shot both the faction champions and the twins, but wiped once on ANB. (After it made sense not to put the #2 damage dealer on the iceballs.)

    And a helm dropped for me -woot!

    Reply

    • koalabear21
      Jan 11, 2010 @ 10:15:25

      The first time we went in as a guild, there were only 5-6 guildies and we one shot everything except the first and last boss.

      I think you have to see Anub in action before you can take him down. It is kind of difficult to explain it without seeing what actually happens.

      Reply

      • rustbeard
        Jan 12, 2010 @ 13:41:47

        I agree. Since we hadn’t planned on going that far, I had neglected to hit the tankspot videos beyond LJ. So, when they told me initally to shoot down the “ice thingies” I had to wait to see what they were all about. So, the second time, I was on ANB, allowing me to get a better look at the raid encounter as a whole.

        Reply

  3. Ak
    Jan 11, 2010 @ 10:06:51

    Soundtrack for Saturday:


    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DtWfhkC4A_A&feature=related

    Had an awesome time, by the way. Being OT in ToC In conjunction with offtanking Iggy adds earlier in the week has really made me feel a lot more confident in my Facerolladin tanking skills… That and my pally’s gearscore jumped like 300 points after upgrades. >.>

    Reply

  4. Orangeslice
    Jan 11, 2010 @ 10:20:10

    Grats on the loots!

    Did a TOC with guildies last night was a good time, got loot for people and got people who had not done the fight before achievements.

    Still hate the faction champion part….too much like PVP….PVP makes me cry. Although I did play WAR for quite a bit and that was all PVP :P

    Reply

  5. repgrind
    Jan 11, 2010 @ 11:47:32

    Grats! People may disagree with me, but I still think ToC is fun.

    Heroic really throws a few wrenches into the machine, though … it’s almost like learning whole new fights. I’ve never beaten Anub on heroic.

    Reply

  6. Mason
    Jan 11, 2010 @ 12:16:20

    I see you are writing short stories now.

    Reply

  7. @valkyrierisen
    Jan 11, 2010 @ 14:46:36

    As I’ve only seen each of those drop maybe twice, and you had both in the same run, I am full of hatred and jealousy. :)

    But grats on the fun times! D

    Reply

  8. Ness
    Jan 12, 2010 @ 05:06:36

    Grats guys on finishing the rest of the raid, this was the first I heard about it! Grats on the weapon, too. My friend had waited and waited for the Horde version to drop for a while, then it did and he won it. Then I switched servers. Then he quit. That bastard….

    I’m looking forward to Sat. Hopefully we can get in a little quicker and get the job done. (That’s what she said?) I would be all for trying ToGC but I don’t quite think we’re ready to take it on. The NRB are a MAJOR pain in the ass. Everything seems to get easier from there. I’ve yet to kill Anub in ToGC. Maybe I should try to do that sometime…

    OH and we get some Sartharion action this week =D Woot woot

    Reply

    • koalabear21
      Jan 12, 2010 @ 13:48:49

      WIth our guild make up we should be able to get at least 2 OS runs in. Maybe the alts just do the 0 drakes and possibly go for the bigger achieve with our mains.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

