Healer’s meme revisited

 
Miss Medicinia called out for those of us who filled out the healer meme thing a while back to go back and revisit what we had posted before.  So without further adieu:

The New Questions:

1. Reread your original answers to the questions. With the benefit of hindsight, score your own work in terms of its cringeworthiness.

Wow I was a nub.  I got my stats wrong and was completely ignorant about tank healing as a tree.  At the time I wrote that I was still fairly new to tree healing, now I feel like I have the hang of it.  The majority of that post was cringeworthy.  So yeah, don’t go back and read it for info guys, I fail. >.>

2. Has your class’s healing improved in the area you identified as its weakest?

I mentioned that I sucked as a tank healer and that I was all about raid healing.  Yeah sooo very wrong.  We are still working out the kinks in our healing strat for ICC, but it looks like I will be healing the OT and back up raid healing.  I have figured out how to lifebloom correctly and now use Regrowth when tank healing.  I still have my “oh shit” NS + HT macro, but I use swiftmend more often with better results.  I am currently working on using that whenever it is off cooldown.

3. Have you changed your “least favoured class to heal with”?

At the time I answered this question I had only just started playing with Heleva and her Disc priest.  I was used to just working with Vel and his resto shammy.  Now that I have done several raids with her I feel like I can understand her a bit better.  I use my HoTs with her bubbles to the full effect that I can.  I think once we get the new tank healing situation under control and work with it enough we will be an unstoppable healing machine.

I no longer have an least favorite.  There is just my jealousy of Vel’s 14-18k crits on his heals.  I’m thrilled when I see an 11k crit.

4. Did you read the entries from others in the webring, especially your class?

I have to admit that I did not.  The only ones I remember that I read were from Ilikebubbles and Miss Medicinia.  I think I might have read a few others, but I honestly cannot remember.  I know that since then I have found other tree blogs and priest blogs.  My blog roll exploded after that meme.

5. If Yes to #4, did you learn anything that made you a better healer?

Actually yes.  I learned what I actually needed to gear for.  What the raiding rotation should be and how to fulfill roles I previously thought I couldn’t.

6. What tools/resources or information do you think you would need to improve as a healer and how could that help the community at large?

I need to push myself more and learn where I can truly excel.  Up until we started raiding ICC, I didn’t have that much to do.  Healing raids was actually kind of boring.  Now I am being challenged and actually have to pay attention to what I am doing.  I went oom!  Several times!  I am a tree!  We aren’t supposed to go oom!  I have since fixed the issue, but now I find I am actually thinking about which spell to use and how often to use it.

I think most healers just need to be able to practice in something that will provide a challenge.  Most of the time healing in raids turns into the boring whack-a-mole that we all know and love and we get lazy.  I am very happy to see that ICC is bringing the healing challenges we need.

Most new trees were like me and confused to what we need.  Something like Lissanna’s blog with her awesome guides, but more leaning towards raiding.  Her guide is fantastic for beginning trees, but something that leans towards making sure the trees have a challenge.  Let’s face it, trees are OP, we need something to keep us on our toes.

7. What did you identify as your worst habit as a healer? Have you improved in this area?

I said overhealing.  This is still an issue, but it is something that I am actively working on.  Trees should never go oom :(.  I don’t know how much I have actually improved since it is a work in progress, but I think there might actually be some improvement.  I am still horrible about clipping and overhealing over my HoTs.  I put them up just to get a bigger Nourish; which is pretty bad.  I am working on it though!

8. What did you list as your favorite healing spell and your least used healing spell for your class? Are these answers still true? If they have changed, what caused the change (i.e. patch fix, different healing environment, etc)?

My favorite spell is still Rejuv.  I think I have finally gotten used to the quicker ticks thanks to the glyph, but I still find myself wanting to spam Nourish.  It has gotten better in 5 mans though.  99% of the time I pop one Rejuv on the tank and then go make a sammich.  It heals for ridiculous amounts of healing.

The least used healing spell I listed was Regrowth.  Since I have started healing the tanks I have found I use it a lot more.  It is usually one of the first spells I put on them.  Yes Lifebloom goes on faster but Regrowth lasts longer.

I used to never use Tranquility either, now I actively try to find a time when I can use it.  I like to think that I helped save us all by using it.  It might not be the case, but I can dream right?

Well those are my replies.  If you participated and now read my blog go post your answers!  You can post them here, in your own blog or over at Miss Medicinia’s place. :D  Happy healing!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Delerius
    Feb 09, 2010 @ 10:20:00

    Nourish-spam is fun, throwing off 1 second heals all over the place makes me feel like a shammy.. but too much of that and you’ll go oom.

    I find that this is my biggest problem, if everything in a raid just goes crazy and everyone’s taking damage I shift out of my “smart healing” mode and go berserk… and go oom… and we die anyway.

    Rejuv heals for so much it isn’t even funny. It just doesn’t heal RIGHT NOW which is what I want to see. Maybe I shouldn’t be a druid =P

    And Regrowth.. I loves me Regrowth. I probably use it a little too often, but as long as it’s on a haste proc I can justify it.

    Oh, and remembering to use your innervate at 60% instead of at 2% is very very important. I’ve said this a billion times now but even I still forget it.

    Reply

    • koalabear21
      Feb 09, 2010 @ 10:26:56

      I am so bad with my innervate. I never used to have to use it so I would save it for Vel if he died or if a dps needed it. I gotta start paying better attention to my mana bar and using it more often.

      Reply

      • Vel
        Feb 12, 2010 @ 00:47:14

        My rule of thumb now as boomkin >>> Innevate makes me look better in pugs when I use it at 50-60% and stay at full mana than to use it when I go oom and look like a tard during a boss fight swinging a melee weapon til I can cast again.

        Don’t want to piss off the pugs.

        Ever.

        Period.

        Reply

  2. Trackback: Healing meme Take 2! « DoTs & HoTs

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

