Why do you play – part deux

Continuing from yesterday, I will talk today about the other reasons I play.

The gameplay has sucked me in since the beginning.  I had never played a game like WoW before.  The movement in game took a while for me to learn.  Andrew still teases me about not being able to swim.  Swimming was the bane of my early months.  I couldn’t figure out how to get underwater and then I would drown once I did figure it out.  At one point he threatened to come over to my apartment at like 9 pm at night to show me how to swim under water.  It was said in the tone of voice that your mom used when she was furious at you and if she had to come over there you were going to regret it.  Yeah I learned how to swim underwater pretty quickly.

Everything was so different from what I was used to that it was a novelty.  Even now, almost 2 years later I am still finding things that keep it being a novelty for me.  Even if it is a simple as finding a tree in Felwood that has teeth and drools.  I get excited and talk about it.  Then I take a picture and share it with all of you!  Yes I am just that sharing of an individual. :D

As I mentioned yesterday I wanted to raid with my guildies from the get go.  The fact that I am now raid leading them in Icecrown is just mind boggling.  Who would have thought that the nub player who couldn’t swim underwater is now telling people to “not stand in the neon green shit” and to “quit dpsing the boss and kill those adds.”  The most boggling part is they listen to me.  Or at least make me believe that they listen to me, then make fun of me.  Yes I feel the love.  To prove my love for them I play such wonderful things like banana phone and Richard Cheese just to get the mood right.  Several of them hate me now for this, but I still think they secretly want me to play the songs more.  Just a feeling I have. *evil grin*

Moving on . . .

Raiding is a blast, but can suck so hard when you do nothing but wipe over and over again.  I am so very new to the whole raiding scene so I haven’t exactly gotten used to wiping over and over again.  I still get pissy over it.  I think the funny thing is I would rather attempt new bosses at the end of a successful run than do them when we freshly start out.  It almost feels like we are more successful when we do things that way.  I also could just be delirious by the end of the night and think things are going super well when in fact they aren’t.  It is always a possibility.

ICC is the first time, outside of being a newbie tree, where I have had a steady challenge in healing.  I have had to go back and look at my healing methods and change things.  I think our biggest set back on our healing is we don’t quite trust that the others will be able to pull off their jobs.  For example:  Kate is assigned the MT, Vel is given the OT and back up raid heals and I have raid heals and back up on tanks if they need it.  See the overlapping?  I see bubbles going up on the raid (Kate), I put HoTs up on the tanks and spam nourish when they drop in health and Vel just chain heals like a mad man.  None of us are “truly” just doing what we were assigned to do.  I don’t know if it is because we are in a mentality from 5 mans where we have to keep ALL the bars green, or if we just are trying to help out the other healers.  The result is a TON of overhealing.  I am not talking about just a bit of overhealing that happens with HoTs being overridden, I am talking about a metric crapton of overhealing.  Yes it is that bad.  Ah well that is meat for another post.  My point (yes I had one :p) was I have these things to think about where I never did before.

I never knew I liked puzzles like this.  Huh, who knew?

Ultimately there are many things that keep people playing.  I think we all have to agree though that the one thing that keeps us all pushing ourselves is the purple pixels.

Don’t deny it.

You did it for the purplz.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nitedragon
    Feb 18, 2010 @ 10:33:45

    I’m right there with you. I love these type of challenges. You can try a ton of different things to get what you want without any real repercussions. Not like in RL. I’m too afraid to take a chance and it turn out bad. Got too many things riding on me.

    Reply

  2. Tiræl
    Feb 18, 2010 @ 12:04:46

    My priest hit 80 1.5 weeks ago. I ran heroics all week and did VoA 10/25 Ony 10/25 ToC 10/25 and so on and got enough gear to go into ICC 10/25. I will have to say that healing the first couple of fights are meh..and then there was Saurafang the Younger….and Festergut…and I play disc..someone shoot me.

    What spec is Kate? Obviously you are a branch and Vel is a shaman. Realistically, just try to focus on your assignment more without getting tunnel vision. Making sure everyone stays alive isn’t a bad thing..as long as you don’t go OOM and your MAIN responsilbity (be it tanks or raid) stays alive. If those two conditions are met, I would say you are doing it right.

    Reply

    • koalabear21
      Feb 18, 2010 @ 12:11:56

      Kate is Disc.

      The problem is I am getting close to going OOM.

      We tried changing it to where I healed one tank and Vel raid healed, but that didn’t go over so well.

      When we took down Saurfang Jr Kate actually wasn’t with us. She was out of town and we pugged a pally healer. Him and I two healed that fight with Vel dpsing as elemental. He managed to get the mark and I was all in a panic trying to keep him alive and the raid. The fact that we still downed the boss and I didn’t go OOM was awesome.

      Reply

      • Tiræl
        Feb 18, 2010 @ 12:34:15

        The easiest way to do that fight (if you have a paladin healer) is to have them switch their beacon to the Mark of the Fallen Champion target. Then spam heal the current tank.

        For your normal comp (disc/tree/shaman), here is my suggestions. First off, that is a decent healing comp. You have one tank healer/damage mitigator (Kate), one purely aoe healer (Vel), and one spike damage mitigator (you).

        Your job as a resto druid (as my friend puts it) is to blanket rejuv the raid and WG every CD on each group and just run around and pick flowers…or /afk for pizza.

        Vel’s job is to Earth Shield whoever the MT is and Chain Heal the living crap out of the two tanks. Riptide where applicable.

        Kate’s job is to heal the MT AND mitigate raid damage. Certain skills, like Renewed Hope (3% reduced damage RAID WIDE when she bubbles one person), do this automatically. She should also be bubbling anybody targeted by a boss ability, such as Bone Storm on Marrowgar, Boiling Blood on Saurafang, Shadowbolts on Lady D, Vile on Festergut etc etc. Also, when she bubbles someone, her heals receive 20% inc casting speed.

        Ultimately, as a healing team, you guys need to learn to trust that the others will do their job. Kate needs to understand that you and Vel got the raid (except for above stated instances), Vel needs to understand Kate can handle the tanks while he takes care of the raid, and most of all, you need to understand that those two will be fine, unless they specifically ask for help.

        A few hots here and there on the tank isn’t a bad thing, you just need to pay attention to that mana bar. As you guys get a better feel for the 10 man raiding environment, you will understand how to react to each other, and automatically know when they got it vs when they need help. Then you will be a well oiled machine.

        Reply

      • orangeslice
        Feb 18, 2010 @ 15:49:57

        well stated Ty. Much better then i can explain.

        Then again I am used to how Sorak and Del work…and if I had to put it into words, its as Ty put it…i think. Well only thing I would change..is on Saurfang…Del does most of the tank healing. I may throw a Penance or a FH and PoM and shield on them.

        Reply

  3. Cynwise
    Feb 18, 2010 @ 19:44:42

    I can’t lie. I keep playing for the HKs.

    (And the purplz.)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

