Well ok then

I had a completely different topic that I was going to write about today, but drama reared its ugly head last night.  Since this is still on the top of my head it is for the best that I just get it out.

That’s why I have a blog right?

Wednesday nights we try to get into ICC and knock out a few bosses so that we can start at the hard stuff on Saturday night while we are fresh.  I was excited because we had 8 sign ups going in.  When I logged over around 7 pm (10 pm server) I thought that I had like 15 mins until we started.  Nope, raid was scheduled for 7:15, oops!  Ok invites out!  I ended up with 6 people.  Shit.  Zakk backed out because he had school and was tired.  Ok that is one more ranged I need to find.  I looked through my friend’s list, my favorite DK was online.  I asked him if he wanted to come, yay ok just need 2 ranged.  Our warlock wasn’t online yet.  At this point it is like 7:10 ish so we decided we were going to wait for him.  I get us a hunter and an ele shammy and had a shadow priest as back up in case Ara didn’t make it.  I switched over to my mage that just sits outside of ICC to make tables for us and popped in to make a table for everyone else.  When I switched back I saw that the ele shammy was gone.  Ok no prob, I whispered the shadow priest and brought him in.  It is now about 7:25 ish and we are 10 mins behind starting time.  Still no Ara.  We decide to give him a few more mins since not everyone was in the instance yet.  7:30 rolls around and I ask everyone what they want to do.  Do they want to wait for him or have me go back to dal and get another ranged dps.  Everyone tells me to get another dps.  So off to Dal I go and nabbed a boomkin, who I think we have ran with before.  Head back over, we buff and start clearing trash.

We are on the first pack of trash pulls, it is around 7:44 (30 mins after start time) and Ara logs into vent.  Being the snarky person I am I say “Oh look it is the warlock who lost his raid spot.”  Bad choice of words apparently.  He is all pissy that we didn’t wait for him.  Said that he was only 4 mins late and it was a dick move to not wait for him.  He signed up to go.  He then logged out of vent and logged into the game.  That is when he started whispering me and telling me how shitty it was of us to do this.  I reminded him that the raid started at 10:15 not 10:30.  I even told him that I got the times confused a bit.  I told him that we had waited for him and that we had just replaced him shortly before he logged in.  He stopped replying to me.  The priest I had picked up said that his primary spec was healing so I asked him in whisper what healing spec he was; Disc.  Ok that could work, him and Kate could heal the tanks and Vel can raid heal.  I whispered Ara and asked him if he wanted to come in.  We were still on trash, he could easily come in.  I would step out have the priest take my healing spot.  I wasn’t going to kick a pug or ask someone else to step out.  He wouldn’t reply.

I tried several other times to get him to reply and answer me on if he wanted to come in.  At this point we had downed Marrowgar.  I won the healing trinket, (go me!) and was pretty set for the night so I was even more amiable to stepping down.  I asked in Officer chat if Andrew and/or Vel would be up for raid leading.  Vel has been dealing with a lot of health issues so he has been kind of out of it so he said no.  Andrew said that he could probably do it.  They asked why and I filled them in a bit.  Before we got to Lady D I asked Andrew to talk to Ara since he wouldn’t reply to me.  Ara however was in Ony so Andrew said to forget him.  The hunter that was with us said he needed the fights explained so I gave a quick recap and we took her down.

We wiped once on the gunship because only 2 dps went over to the other ship to kill the mage.  This meant that Ness got creamed by Saurfang and we of course wiped because the mobs were out of control over on the other ship so Dily couldn’t get back over.  He also didn’t have his rocket pack equipped.  >.>

Run back and then the best part of the night happened.

Andrew comes back up and says that he has the “no ship” bug.  I told him I could see him and would pay his repair bill if he tried to jump on the ship.  He is on his polar bear and heads towards the ship.  He then runs up to the ship and jumps.  I stood there and watched him just sink through and die.  It was the most hilarious thing I had seen in a long time.  I literally couldn’t stop laughing.  I even got short of breath I was laughing so hard.  I was still laughing when he came back up and I opened a trade window to give him some money.  He wouldn’t take it and said he got no durability loss.  I told him it was worth the gold just to see that.

We buffed back up and this time knocked out the fight.  Get ready for Saurfang, I tell everyone what to do, tell them where to stand and we go.  The beasts come out and the shadowpriest gets chewed on.  Does he run?  Nope, just stood there and got nommed.  I’m yelling at him in vent to move and telling everyone to kill the beasts, don’t let them touch you.  CC them, kite them, whatever they have to do to get them where they aren’t hitting people.  Several times the beasts didn’t leave the platform and instead were chewing on the melee and tanks.  Again I am yelling in vent to kill the beasts.  Normally we get our one mark when he is around 50% and have him killed before he gets a 2nd mark.  He was at 74% when we got our first mark.  It was of course Kate.  I swear he just loves her.  He marks her every week.  So now I have one dead dps and my other healer is marked.  The beasts are still nomming on people or staying up on the platform.  Shit, Kate died.  I cannot solo heal this fight.  I am NOT that uber.  I would have asked Vel to toss out some heals, but at this point there were only 2 ranged dps left alive so I needed him to dps those beasts down.  When the tanks went down I ran out to the ship hoping to hide, which I succeeded in.  Everyone else was dead.

As we are coming back the hunter says that he has to go.  I notice a friend is online and I ask him if he is willing to come help us down Saurfang.  He says yeah he can bring his hunter for just that fight.  We buff up and I let him know what I want done.  I remind everyone to NOT GET HIT by the beasts.  We go back in and while we did better than the first attempt we still had issues with the beasts nomming the melee and tanks >.> but at least the ranged did better on CC and getting the beasts down faster.  The 3rd time proved to be the charm and we got him down.  I still am not sure how it happened.  Our friend the hunter got the first mark.  I tried to keep him alive, but after so long the damage being done by the mark is just more than can be healed when there are only 2 healers.  He went down.  With his dps gone we just weren’t getting Saurfang down fast enough and a 2nd mark pops up.  I get it this time.  Shit.  Again, I tried to keep myself alive.  I managed to stay alive until right when the first tank went down.  Then as I am dead on the ground I see the other tank go down.  I don’t even know who was left alive other than Andrew, but Saurfang went down.  Apparently Andrew had tanked him the last little bit and we somehow got him down. Woot!

Westan had to leave but luckily Matt came online at that point so we made him get on his hunter and come kill the trash and the mini boss with us.  Ara still has not replied to me.  At this point he is on his druid tank and doing heroics.  I send him a whisper asking him if he is still not talking to me, after I don’t get a reply I send him another one saying “guess not.”  I then get an angry whisper about how he had a shitty day at work, got stuck being there late, rushed to get home for the raid for all of this to happen.  I am talking in O chat about this to Andrew and Vel.  I double checked the raiding rules (which I had written weeks ago) and the #1 rule is “Be on time.  If you are not on time we will replace you with someone else even if that happens to be a PuG.”  We didn’t have to wait for him.  We did wait for him though.  We waited longer than we should have before replacing him.  Vel then takes this opportunity to change the guild message of the day to something about by signing up for the raids you have accepted the raiding rules.  Ara then gquit.  Immediately after that he starts spewing at me in whispers about how dickish that GMOTD was and how it was just the last straw.  While all this is happening, we are fighting the first mobs in the upper spire.  The chick is not going down and we are just getting swarmed with the copies.  My mind is only half there as I am dealing with the angry whispers.  We wiped.  I take partial blame for that one, but not full blame.  The adds were left to beat the crap out of everyone and not everybody was focusing on her so the copies healed her back up.

Meanwhile in gchat several other people who had not been online earlier are all confused as to why Ara had left.  As we are explaining somewhat Vel is asking if he can be a total dick.  I replied “go ahead, why not” and he gkicked Ara’s warlock.  I thought he was just going to make a snarky comment, guess I was wrong.  I don’t know what happened when Ara signed back on to his lock because I had logged off Bloodhoof and our vent.

I logged over to Drak’Tharon all upset over the entire night.  I popped into SR’s vent to see if anyone was there.  Several people were down in one of the group channels so I just stayed up on top not wanting to nose in on their group stuff.  Tir was also in vent and he popped up to chat and I just fell apart.

I might pick on Tir, but I do like him.  He is a great guy, just takes some getting used to. ;)

He was really awesome.  He listened to me go off and just kept whispering me to stop and breathe.  If I hadn’t been so upset I would have laughed.  He reassured me that as the RL and an officer I had done the right thing.  We had rules and I stuck to them.

I have the VERY bad habit of taking everything personally and getting my emotions involved.  For example as I am writing this I am upset all over again and crying.  Go figure.  It is something I am very aware of and just cannot seem to get better at.  Maybe this means I just shouldn’t be in any form of leadership position, who knows.

We ended up talking about my post yesterday.  Apparently he got a lot of teasing from everyone about it.  Good thing he can handle it.  As I told him, it isn’t so much that we disagree on the topic, we just have completely different viewpoints.  This isn’t a bad thing, but it can cause problems if the parties involved aren’t aware.  In all honesty I am *really* not all that worried about being in a group with him leading.  The dude knows his shit.  I just have to give him hell.  I do it cause I care, truly. :)

I just now got a really nice email from Andrew checking to make sure I was ok.  Thanks hun!  He too reassured me that we did the correct thing last night and that things just got blown way out of wack.

I am not really looking forward to logging in tonight, but I will be there.  We have a really easy weekly raid quest and should be able to get 2 if not 3 groups through it and still tackle ToC.  We’ll see how things go.

Wish me luck.

61 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dark/Soth
    Feb 25, 2010 @ 10:33:09

    I’ve had shitty days at work, been stuck in traffic, had to deal with a whiny, hungry, 4 year old, and got home a few minutes late to the raid. One thing I’ve always done is messaged the RL ahead of time with the situation and said up front that I totally understand If I get replaced. Sometimes my spot was filled, sometimes it wasn’t. If you accept for a raid and said raid is being held at the appropriate time, show up on time or you lose your spot. Ara should be grateful you waited at all.

    Reply

    • koalabear21
      Feb 25, 2010 @ 10:52:45

      You can’t use logic in this you know.

      Reply

      • Arasirsul
        Feb 25, 2010 @ 12:41:21

        Ara gets the part about raid commitment. He’s played in a 25 main raid guild who was first in progression on their respective realm. He knows how the whole attendance requirement thing works.

        The part he is pissed about is the part that’s being omitted and ignored. This is a self declared ‘casual’ guild. For other guild members who’ve been late or sick or whatever you’ve delayed raids rather than replace them with pugs. I’m late, I get it. It’s a casual guild — so I don’t have phone numbers or email addresses to get a message to people while I’m sitting in traffic. I get home and jump on vent while the loading screen is crawling and the first thing I get is a bitch comment about being the lock who just lost his spot. Not a “Hey, where you been.” Then a lecture about the raid rules that haven’t been equally applied. So I go do my own thing. Then I get a MOTD to rub it in and you wonder why I leave?

        If you want to have rules then you need to apply them to guildies equally or you’re going to piss people off.

        Victimfest is now over.

        Reply

        • Tiræl
          Feb 25, 2010 @ 13:13:13

          Hey, bud. You were 30 minutes late. I guarantee that in your “server first” guild you pulled that one week and your ass would have been benched.

          You were signed up for a raid and were late. You got replaced after the RL waited 30 minutes. TFB. Better luck next week.

          Realize that the guild officers, not the RL, decided it was your time to gtfo. Shit happens. It’s a game. Grow up.

          Reply

          • Tiræl
            Feb 25, 2010 @ 13:16:23

            P.S. QQ moar. Tirael feeds on your tears. (FWIW, if you ever want anyone to take you seriously again, don’t refer to yourself in third person, because you just look like an EJ retard). Have a nice day. :)

  2. orangeslice
    Feb 25, 2010 @ 10:50:13

    We all have had crappy days…etc. However, when you sign up for a guid/raid…you sign up to their rules and standards.

    If you have a reason, try to let someone know what is going on. As Soth mentioned text someone, post on guild forum etc.

    You did wait…so I see nothing that you did that was in the wrong. Have to do what is best for the guild.

    If you still feel sad *hit* Ti. And I guess me. :)

    Reply

  3. Psynister
    Feb 25, 2010 @ 11:09:42

    The fact that you have some emotional attachment to what you’re doing is a sign that you’re actually good at being a leader. If you don’t care, then you’re just a dick with “authority”.

    We had some similar issues happen a couple of weeks ago in our guild. Drama, drama, drama and all over a silly little comment that should have caused nothing more than a chuckle instead completely pissed them off. She quit, the husband quit, their friend quit, a couple of other people that don’t really do anything with the guild quit because it was the trending thing to do, and so on.

    Getting offended is a choice that you make yourself. If someone says something that hurts you, then alright it hurt, but you know they didn’t mean for it to (not in a situation like this, anyway). If it’s something that you take offense to then you know, not so deep down, that it could have just as easily been a joke if you wanted to take it that way.

    You did exactly what you should have done, with the possible exception of waiting for Ara at all. The problem with bending the rules is that other people might soon expect you to do the same for them as well. Having the GMotD switched to reinforce the rule probably actually fixes that potential issue, but if there’s any wrong choice that was made that would be it.

    Reply

  4. Delerius
    Feb 25, 2010 @ 11:27:13

    Drama is never fun when you’re going through it, but it will (usually, I might dare to say always) help you learn how to handle it the next time it comes up. And not just for you, but the rest of the guild watching all this.

    And I agree with the comment above, being emotional about it just means you really care, which is a quality that is very important for a leader to have.

    Reply

  5. Jasra
    Feb 25, 2010 @ 12:19:47

    As much as it sucked, I think you were right to not wait. I’m ok waiting if somoene’s left word, otherwise, nope.

    Reply

  6. Doz
    Feb 25, 2010 @ 12:44:46

    Hey lyss,

    yall raid on different days than we do in SR. So if you need another dps or Tank I can xfer a toon over there and would be happy to help you guys out or just fill a pug spot.

    Reply

    • koalabear21
      Feb 25, 2010 @ 12:47:44

      we need a ranged dps, so if you have one that wants to come raid with us you are welcome to. :)

      wednesday nights 10:15 pm (EST) server start time. invites go out at 10

      saturday nights 10:30 pm (EST) start time, invites go out at 10:15 pm

      we have taken down festergut once, but the first 4 bosses we have down.

      Reply

  7. Doz
    Feb 25, 2010 @ 12:51:29

    shaman or warlock…shaman can sort of heal..not great…and the lock is geared but you have seen how often I log onto him.

    Reply

    • koalabear21
      Feb 25, 2010 @ 12:54:44

      we currently do not have a raiding warlock. the only other one we had was me, and im healing on my druid.

      we dont have a true raiding mage either.

      if you want to bring the shaman you are free to do so. we run with a resto shaman and the player who sometimes comes on his mage also comes on his ele shaman.

      you will have less competition on your warlock.

      Reply

  8. Doz
    Feb 25, 2010 @ 12:56:17

    you I cant do the dranei thing. Just realized you were Alliance. Ill bring necro over. Im guessing thats bloodhoof server.

    Reply

  9. Kaylex
    Feb 25, 2010 @ 14:13:20

    /popcorn

    /considers a server transfer

    /knows Jasra will kick her ass

    /moar popcorn

    Reply

  10. theerivs
    Feb 25, 2010 @ 14:21:39

    < Dick with no authority.

    It's selfish on his part to make the whole raid for him, that guy has huge balls. Whether there are rules, or no rules. I say good riddance, and better luck next time.

    I have shitty days, months, and years, but thats no excuse to become a selfish asshat.. If I can't make it on time for a raid, I just don't raid it's as simple as that.

    It's common courtesy thing, not a rule thing, and if they don't have common courtesy for the 19 other people who are there.

    BYE!

    Reply

  11. Doz
    Feb 25, 2010 @ 14:24:00

    Ok xfered over…there was no welcoming commitee or parade in my honor. I feel so unloved.

    Reply

  12. Doz
    Feb 25, 2010 @ 14:26:59

    lol..well you do know I am in ICC tonight with Arioch.

    Reply

  13. Nitedragon
    Feb 25, 2010 @ 16:36:16

    If you guys are on late enough, maybe I can get 1 of the weekly runs.

    Reply

  14. Vel
    Feb 25, 2010 @ 18:49:09

    And now Vel pipes in….

    Ara… dude… get over it.

    Victimfest? really?

    1. We said a LONG time ago people need to read the raid rules, or not sign up. People got pissy cause I cancelled an entire raid night because 5 out of 10 people WERE DOING OTHER THINGS up until 15 minutes AFTER THE RAID WAS SUPPOSED TO START.

    2. We made the GMOTD after that specifically say to READ THE RAID RULES. Had you done this, yesterday would not have been a suprise.

    3. There is no “victimfest.” We gave you an additional 30 minutes of OUR time. Not yours. OURS. If I were raid leader, you would have been replaced after 5 minutes, not 30. I do not recall waiting 30 minutes for anyone, regardless of spec, guild history, piss test, or otherwise.

    4. I MADE THE NEW GMOTD WITH NO CONSENT OR KNOWLEDGE OF ANYONE IN THE GUILD. Talk about dick moves, your the one bitching at the wrong person. You got a problem with it, talk to the right person.

    5. We are more strict now than we were in the CoF days. Mostly because we get complete tards that sneak thru by some means, cause a bunch of drama in game just to be a fucktard, then try to play the innoccent card cause they can’t own up to their own actions.

    Grow the fuck up. I garuantee beyond reasonable doubt that Mil was 100 times more leniant with you than I would have been. Good luck with another guild putting up with your attitude and selfishness.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

