bwah?

Arioch and Tirael have been lapping up my creative juices (giggity) lately and I just feel like I need to do nothing but write.  The first story came out easily enough.  I wrote it in like an hour, but the second story took several hours and I still am not happy with it.

I am not really sure what I want to write about.

I mean, I could write about the guild drama that happened on Wednesday, but Nite touched on it.  Plus I just don’t want to deal with the fallout that will become the comments section.

I could write about the GotUR runs we did on Friday and Saturday.  How I am now 10/13 towards my drake.

Ehh that just will piss me off about how people cannot stay out of the bad or keep spread out.  I pride myself on making sure that I am the appropriate distance away (/range FTW) and yet staying in range of the healer.  I keep vuhdo up on my dps characters just for this specific purpose.  I go bat-shit insane when other dps starts crowding in on me.  Do not follow me around!  I might have dots, but I still need to stand and cast shit.  I cannot do that if you keep moving into my bubble!

I know!  I will give you all a little lesson on how affliction warlock dps works.  Courtesy of Andrew:

Every class takes a certain amount of time to ramp up to their full damage potentials. Hunters are almost instantaneous, Rogues, like 3 seconds, not counting the time it takes to run in, etc. etc. Warlocks are the slowest of the bunch, I think their ramp time is on the order of 30+ Seconds. Well shit, let’s have a look:

• S.Bolt (3s)
• S.Bolt (3s)

• Haunt (1.5s)
• CoA (GCD)
• Corr (GCD)
• UA (1.5s)
• Haunt (Because it’s wearing already)
• SB spam

That’s what you have to do to START doing damage.

Now, Afflocks are supposed to be cool because they can do damage and move at the same time. Except if they have to move their DoT stack falls partway or all the way off, and their dps goes down the shitter. Sure they’re doing damage when other people aren’t, but then they have to ramp again. Same thing if they get silenced, interrupted, etc. Did you get stunned in the middle of your UA cast? Fuck. Cast it again, and watch your CoA or Haunt fall off, You’re already losing DPS because you aren’t casting SB. Did you get your Haunt reflected? FUCK. 15% total damage MINUS for 10 seconds. And you may have to burn a GCD to cast Corr again. And a lot of their single-target damage is dependent on SB, so they have to stand and cast just like a Mage anyway. Except mages don’t have a DoT rotation to maintain. (Not that I’m super knowledgeable about mages, I could be wrong.) Oh and do you need a little extra damage real quick? Well then just hit your DPS cooldowns- …wait. …uh…

So far as I can tell, Warlock is the only class that works backwards. There’s a theoretical maximum damage output, (Determined by your gear) and your performance really only sets the % of that maximum output you can reach.

 

So yeah.  This is why I fail at putting out damage on bone spikes.  The last time we were in ICC I popped a Corruption on each one and got lucky with a few Nightfall procs so I managed to show up on the damage meters for them.  I think I did like 13k, Zug did 140k.  Yeah go me! >.>

Fights where I can stand still and stay in the groove (the anchor position on Festergut) is where I will shine.  Depending on my haste levels I can get 3-4 shadow bolts off between DoT refreshing.  I am currently sitting at 704 haste, with my spellstone. 

WTB MOAR HASTE!

Seriously, what is up with all the fucking crit on everything?!  I’m swimming in hit too.  I have actually thought about changing around my talent points to get rid of the points in suppression, but then I need to figure out where I would put them.  I know that Nibuca recently posted about how she has been fiddling with her spec to deal with all the excess hit.  I play horde, I don’t have an extra 1% hit.  It makes me sad that I no longer have the guarantee that there will be a draenei in the party.

I need to just look into things.

So yeah anyway it is now 12:30 am and I need to crash out.  Laters!

39 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. slice213
    Mar 30, 2010 @ 08:13:27

    “Seriously, what is up with all the fucking crit on everything?!”

    Crit is nom, like Bacon.

    Reply

  2. Tiræl
    Mar 30, 2010 @ 09:14:59

    Btw, all sources of email are down so I can’t do anything about stories until I get home.

    Reply

  3. gravedust13
    Mar 30, 2010 @ 09:33:22

    *Would like everyone to know the Warlock thing was a rant in response to a rant and has not been fact-checked to the extent I normally do before I say things publicly: which is to say; parts of it are very liable to be wrong.*

    Reply

  4. Nibuca
    Mar 30, 2010 @ 10:36:13

    For Bonespikes I use ShadowBolt. Though I’m toying with using Seed spam if they’re all bunched up under the boss.. not sure. With only 3 spikes I don’t know if seed spam would splash more than direct casts of Shadow Bolt.

    Mmmm must consider

    Nibs.

    Reply

  5. Hêx
    Mar 31, 2010 @ 01:36:39

    2 things, first, I has lots of haste
    HAHAHAHHAHAHAHA
    second, be an ele shaman. WHAT?!?!?!?!? BONE SPIKE!?!?!?! Flame shock auto-crit lava burst. Chain lightning, dead.
    What does thing equal?

    WIN!

    Oh, btw fuck all of you who make fun of the way I say pants.

    Reply

  6. trixyheleva
    Mar 31, 2010 @ 10:57:40

    I like the way you say “pants”. I find it refreshing and perhaps even sophisticated. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

