Pity party table of 1

Last night we were supposed to start at Sindragosa.  Unfortunately one of our healers got stuck at work.  Since we would have to pull in another healer and Soth wanted a new weapon off a boss we had already killed, it was decided to just restart the raid.

Things got off to a rocky start.  I am not sure what is wrong with me but I was having the same problems last night that I was having on Tuesday.  I made sure I ate before the run so that wasn’t it.  I am starting to think it is something completely out of the game period.  Zam thought it might be raid jitters or something.  I don’t think it is.  I was making a marked improvement each week without any issue.  I can’t see suddenly acquiring that after not having it since I first started raiding with SR.

It is most likely all the outside stuff that is going on.  I tend to think and then over think stuff.  My brain never stops.  I have a hard time falling asleep at night because I cannot get my mind to turn off.  This ends up with me staying up far too late and getting like 4-5 hours of sleep a night.  Like right now, I just zoned out writing this while my mind went off on other topics.  It isn’t even like I am thinking about just one thing.  I have 5 or 6 different topics floating around in my head.  *sigh*

Re-setting the raid turned out to be for the best really.  Soth got his new weapon so big congrats go out to him! :)  I also got a new wand and hit exalted with the Ashen Verdict.  I think I am now at 5792 gs.  As Tir said the other day “pimp my lock” indeed.

I am going to take Soth’s advice and get rid of the hit on the gems.  If I get to soft cap (11% for me) I should be ok.  That means I only need to have 289 hit.  With the gems I am sitting at 332.  When I remove them I will be at 312 which is still higher than the 289 I can drop down to.  When I have hit issues it makes me miss being Alliance and having a Draenei in every fucking group ever.  I think EoF had at least 2 in every raid we were in, usually 3 or 4.  It really was overkill.

I am not raiding again until Sunday.  Hopefully I will be able to work out some of the stuff that is plaguing me, both in my head and in the game.  I can stand at the training dummy and knock off my rotation like no one’s business, but put me in a raid, and it all goes to hell.  Ari is such a nice RL.  She tries to help me with my class failings.  I was told on Marrowgar to not switch to the spikes unless Ari was impaled.  On Lady D I get to stay on the mana shield.  Festergut I get to be the anchor or if we have extra ranged I get to be in the boss crotch.  Even with those lovely concessions made to me, I still fail.  5-6k dps is not good when everyone else is doing 7-10k.  I don’t think I can even go with the whole “you aren’t as geared as they are” thing because I am not really that far behind everyone anymore.  I end up feeling like I am given these buffs and they are being wasted, which means I probably shouldn’t be getting them anymore.

What drives me nuts is when I get told “you did fine” etc.  No, no I didn’t.  Each chain has its weakest link and being that link repeatedly is not something I am enjoying.  Yes I stay out of the bad, yes I follow instructions, but damn it I need to pick up my damage.  Other than cookies and soul stones (and sometimes curse of elements, you know when I FUCKING REMEMBER TO USE IT) I don’t have a lot to bring to the raid except DPS and I am not even bringing that.  On the dummy I can pull 5300 dps.  According to maxdps.com self buffed (which is all I am on the dummy) I should be pulling 5300 dps.  Put me in a raid (fully buffed) and I get 5300 dps.  Something is rotten in the state of Denmark.

Ok so dps is low, but overall damage is where the importance is placed.  It is one thing when your damage is higher and your dps is a bit low in comparison to everyone else.  Last night, not only was I bad dps, my overall damage was significantly lower than the next person.  They were at 17-18% overall, I was at 13-14%.  1-2% I am ok with. 3-4% not so much.

So how did I end out my craptastic raiding night?  By dying repeatedly in AB.  Normally when I get AB I defend a node.  Lately it has been the farm.  I run up, assault it and guard it.  Usually there are 2-3 other people who stay with me.  I got AB twice last night.  The first time I was going solo.  I was left alone at the farm for almost the whole time.  About halfway through a DK joined me.  As soon as fighting started at the BS he left to fight, leaving me alone at the farm.  The Alliance kept sending 5-6 people to the farm, while I was standing there alone.  My poor VW bubble only absorbs around 10k damage.  Being MC btw, sucks ass.  There was this shadow priest that just had a hard on for me or something.  She made it a point to MC me every time she would attack the farm.  At one point she attacked the farm solo just so she could MC me before the DK killed her.

We of course lost that AB.

Back in Dal I was staring at the last book spawn point I need debating if I was going to crash out (it is 11:30 mind you) or what when someone asked me if I wanted to group up with several guildies and do a BG.  Since I still didn’t have my win I said sure why not.  We get AB again.  I got left alone at the farm, again.  I got gang raped at the farm, again.  Luckily Zug was in vent and in our BG group and came to help me.  Zam was also on his DK and showed up to help.  For a while it was just Zug and I at the farm, dying repeatedly.  I did manage to kill a fucking rogue and a fucking DK.  I fucking hate you guys in PvP btw.  I’m sure I sounded like a pissed off bitch when I was yelling about the fuckers dying over vent.  I don’t care.  They deserved to die for camping me in a BG.  Grrrr.

I probably shouldn’t PvP outside of WG anymore.  It probably isn’t good for my stress levels.

We still didn’t win the BG.

So yeah.  Failing at PvE and PvP in the same night.  If you will excuse me I think my table is ready.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nibuca
    Apr 15, 2010 @ 10:12:35

    Take a deep breath. Now take another.

    Now write down all the things you could possible have done wrong/forgotten (CotEl, forgetting tap for glyph before start, not pre-potting). Get it all down on paper(or at least in a notepad app).

    NOW go through line-by-line and figure what you would need to do/see/hear in order to prevent you from forgetting to do that again.

    Here’s the blog post from the last time I did this exact sort of thing: http://chicanery.fibergeek.com/2009/06/03/where-i-suck-at-dps/

    After that post I tweaked my UI and a few macros AND it made me think more critically about my performance the next time I was in there.

    Good Luck.
    Nibs

    Reply

    • koalabear21
      Apr 15, 2010 @ 10:56:22

      I’ve gotten used to having a boomkin or an Unholy DK in the group so I am really bad about remembering to use CoEl. I have it on my bar but it isn’t near my normal buttons. My big problem with it is I am so used to having to reapply CoA that something feels off when I don’t reapply my curse.

      I have need to know set up to show all my DoTs up on each target and to show my Life Tap buff. I am really good about keeping the LT buff up so I am happy to see that isn’t the issue. I probably should life tap more to be perfectly honest. I am finding I get low on mana right about half way through the fight.

      I have a macro set up to use my on use trinket with my shadowbolt. So every time it is up, I am using it.

      My normal rotation is:

      Life Tap
      (trinket) Shadow bolt
      Shaow bolt
      Haunt
      UA
      Cor
      CoA
      Shadow bolt spam

      This corresponds with my keyboard
      4, 2, 2, 5, 6, 3, 1, 2, 2, 2, 4, 5, 6, 2, 2, 1, etc

      I recently respecced and changed things around so that I could get grim & destructive reach. I really noticed a difference in BPC and VDW with my extra range. On VDW I was able to esstentially stand in one spot and hit everyone I needed to. I am on the left side and other than the few mobs that were on the far right, I was able to hit pretty much every mob that spawned. Actually that fight was the only one where I only had one goof up and that was simply that I ran out of mana. I try to not life tap much in that fight to save the healers having to spend heals on me. I was specced into DP but I am not a fan of it anymore. They changed the puppy to where his mana regen sucks when he isn’t in combat. In fights like VDW he isn’t always in combat so my mana regen suffers if I don’t life tap.

      My biggest problem is if I start to focus on other stuff happening then my rotation suffers. This is not a good thing. I don’t know if it is a byproduct from when I used to raid lead on my healer or a form of ADD, but I constantly find myself watching what everyone else is doing and making sure all is well. Is so and so standing in the bad? This add just spawned. Etc. My focus is taken away from just standing there and dpsing, which is all I should “technically” be doing.

      Last night I tried raiding with music in the background. Normally I don’t play anything because I want to make sure I can hear what the hell is going on. I don’t think it worked.

      I think I probably need to just spend several more hours on the training dummy.

      Reply

  2. slice213
    Apr 15, 2010 @ 11:46:14

    Ok I am not going to say you are doing fine, I however cannot ask you to do anymore then you already have. I have no problems with what you have been doing, and I think everyone else would agree.

    “I stay out of the bad, yes I follow instructions.”

    I am sorry, I dont play DPS so I cannot comment on how to DPS.

    But if feel that there is something that can be done better, I am sure you will work it out and things will click.

    “My biggest problem is if I start to focus on other stuff happening then my rotation suffers. This is not a good thing. I don’t know if it is a byproduct from when I used to raid lead on my healer or a form of ADD, but I constantly find myself watching what everyone else is doing and making sure all is well. Is so and so standing in the bad? This add just spawned. Etc. My focus is taken away from just standing there and dpsing, which is all I should “technically” be doing.”

    I can understand this one. We all want to make sure things are going ok…and to an extent we all should.

    But as individuals/roles we need to pull back and concentrate on the roll we are assigned.

    Hmm. that didnt come out as how I wanted to say it. Damn my bad english, sorry it is not my 1st language. :P

    I know when i 1st started to raid…I would get tunnel visioned very easily, and when i start getting tired i will tunnel vision. I had to learn to pull back and look around and keep my head on a swivel, and not only watch the grid but also the environment around me.

    I think in your case it is not a problem with tunnel vision, rather an issue with going from 5 star general to a private 1st class?

    Blah I am not very good at this typing stuff out anymore, but I am sure it will “click” for you soon. :)

    Reply

    • gravedust13
      Apr 15, 2010 @ 12:34:40

      Well at least you have some ideas as to what your issues might be.. Not knowing what you’d need to work on to improve would be far worse….

      I have a little to say a little about your focus issues… and that is, as every class in the game is different there will be different times and frequencies when it’s possible to be ‘heads-up’ and checking on the outside situation, or ‘heads-down’ and just managing your own character. The more familiar you are with your class the more time you’ll be able to spend heads-up, the more efficiently laid out your key commands are, and the better configured your UI is (for your purposes) can contribute to more heads-up time as well.

      Lock requires a lot of heads-down time just by it’s very nature. You are constantly checking your Dots, which there are numerous and of low duration. You are constantly calculating what spell to launch next, and in some cases you are waiting and watching timers so you can launch your next spell at the right time. You have to insure that your pet is on the correct target, manage it through target changes or get it out of dangerous effects.

      Lock is sort of the air traffic controller of the WoW world.

      On the opposite end of this spectrum is the Ret pally who’s only real concern is staying in back of the mob and whipping off their abilities when they come off CD. The class has a huge amount of heads-up time.

      Rogue is pretty heads-up as well, and I’ve spent a lot of time working my UI to keep my head up as much as possible. (Though all I usually see is the huge asses of trash mobs or bosses, so I’m not sure why I bother.)

      Hunter is pretty heads-up.

      Anyway you get the picture.

      For classes that require more attention I think the solution is to know when it’s ‘safe’ to look around without disrupting your DPS. When I was ‘locking the one time I knew I could take advantage of was my SB cast, ~2 seconds when I had nothing else to do. I’d look at my DoT stack to figure my next move, start my SB -glance up to see WTF is going on- then reevaluate my DoT stack to see what’s going on next. If the fight is simple you can do it during something like a Lifetap GCD.

      The second issue is how much you actually need to look up and around.. Since you are one of the classes burdened with a heavy DPS workload, it’s probably more ‘efficient’ to just keep yourself out of the bad and let the more heads-up classes keep tabs on the raid. I know this goes against your nature. ;)

      As far as the mana issue goes, what I eventually did was just make Lifetap a part of my rotation. Something like every 2 Haunts, or whenever I had a dead space that wasn’t big enough to fit a SB into I’d just lifetap. If nothing else you’ll avoid having to double-tap and scaring a healer.

      Your mileage may vary, by now I’m sure you’ve figured out you’re the more experienced ‘lock. ;) But that’s what worked for me.

      And yeah, like Ari said, the fact that you’re dissatisfied with your performance is actually a really good sign. I know you well enough to know you’ll work like hell to figure things out..

      If you are going to put in more dummy time (never a bad idea) Consider randomly interrupting your cycle at certain points to teach yourself how to recover from interruptions in your cycle or other unexpectedness. Like everytime Haunt crits or everytime someone says something dumb in trade, Move 10 meters to the left or right then pick up from where you left off.

      Reply

  3. Raven
    Apr 16, 2010 @ 07:36:37

    You were rambling about your mind never shutting off and how you get 4-5 hours of sleep a night? Is that every night?

    Lack of REM sleep (not just sleep which is why some people need more sleep than others) can cause: lack of attention, lack of coordination, depression, mood swings, weight gain, lethargy, jitteriness, delusions, hallucinations, and complete psychotic breaks (but wait there’s more!…it’s like a bad infomercial…or maybe a list of side effects for any new drug on the market? Bet I could add anal leakage in there somewhere :p)

    For people who already have any of the above problems (not that I’m saying you do) lack of sleep compounds them sometimes exponentially.

    So…ummm…get a good nights sleep? :o)

    Seriously, though, I’m speaking from experience. I used to not sleep…kid, husband, work, warcraft, cleaning…to much to do and to little time. I had a hard time with a lot of things. I got some motivation to find a way to sleep and did. Life is easier now and I play better too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

