*crickets* Don’t mind me I am just rambling here

I started playing WoW more this week.  I had been playing off and on for the past several weeks.  Other than my raid I did a bit ago or a random weekly run, I am not raiding anymore.  I was raiding with Slopoke on Bloodhoof for a bit.  While that was fun, rushing home on a Friday night just felt off to me.  Plus playing on Millea just felt weird.  I have gotten used to playing on Lyssi.  I have the keys set up the way I like them, I have my add-ons set up just so and I can’t quite set up Millea the same.  I also never really raided with Millea.  Tatia was the one I raided on.  It almost feels wrong raiding on Millea.

I’ve also been thinking about my abilities as a warlock lately.  I have come to the conclusion that I am just not that great of a warlock.  I like to think that I am a good raider.  I stay out of the bad, do my job and don’t cause wipes.  Most of the time I am one of the last ones standing.  To me, that is a good raider.  What I continuously fail to bring is top notch dps.

I don’t think it is necessarily the spec.  There are other affliction warlocks that just cream the charts.  It isn’t my computer because I have a pretty nice gaming computer.  I have great internet connection with low latency even though I am west coast and the server is central.  This all points back to me as a player.

I have said in the past that I am not a hardcore player.  When I first joined SR I got a taste of “casual hardcore” and while I was gearing up I was thriving on it.  Once I got to where I really cannot get more gear (outside of heroic modes) my damage should have improved, only it didn’t.  Where is it that I am going wrong?

Andrew has repeatedly said that playing an affliction warlock well is really difficult.  I truly believe this.

It isn’t so much the tracking of your dots, or the high ramp up time, as it is your ability to do EVERYTHING correctly.

“Oh I think I can squeeze off one more Shadow Bolt before I have to reapply Haunt”

“Damn Haunt fell off and I haven’t gotten the cast completed yet”

“Damn it now I need to reapply Corruption”

“Shit I didn’t Life Tap in time”

Etc

And that is just a boss fight where I don’t have to move constantly.

Well you might say that I just need to do some more practice at the training dummy until I get it down pat.  You might be right.  I personally CANNOT stand sitting at the training dummy for hours.  I get bored and end up doing worse than if I was actually raiding.

What makes this worse is I am kind of a raiding snob now.  If you are new to the fight, I will give you a ton of slack.  If you know the fight then I expect you to do your job and do it well.  I get so frustrated with people when they fail on the simple things in raid when I know that they know better.

Now add this attitude in with me failing.

This does NOT go over well.

Definitely NOT in my mind.

Since I stopped raiding what game time I have had has been spent leveling my alts.  Either the mage in the caster duo or my roguelette.  This has not helped with keeping the correct muscle memory on my lock.

Slice and I have been running heroic Magister’s Terrace in the hopes of getting me the pet and the mount.  I have been going in my offspec of aff/demo quasi pvp and have been having issues remembering which button is CoA and which is Corr.  Yes fail warlock is fail.

The funny thing is I still have a blast playing a warlock.  I still cackle when I kill something that is somewhat difficult.  Or when I completely clear out a room or area of the mobs without any “real” loss of health.  I never had this kind of fun when I played Millea.  I think that is why I was able to easily switch “mains” to Tatia for raiding.  Now that I have Lyssi, I rarely want to play Tatia.  Tatia is there for the times I need an instant queue for a friend, or if a healer is needed when there are too many dps.  I actually took her out the other day and did some dailies (I wanted to farm the worm scale for drums) and I just couldn’t get back into the swing of being a boomkin.  I guess Tatia is just a tree and will remain a tree.

I haven’t avoided spoilers for Cataclysm but neither have I gone out looking for them.  This means that I really don’t have a clue as to how my classes are faring so far.  I read enough blogs that cover the pertenent information that once something major happens I would be able to read about it.  I guess that is kind of shit for you if you come here for warlock and druid info.  But then again, if you are coming here for warlock and druid information then I guess I should feel sorry for you and make a comment to direct you to the list of blogs on the right hand side.  There are many other people who only blog about important game things.

I am definitely not one of those.

I still don’t have any answers to my musings from above.  The thoughts are still rolling around in my head as to what I could do to improve or simply just change the situation.  I know eventually I will figure it out.

I know that come Cataclysm I have plans.  I plan on leading my own raiding guild.  I finally admitted to myself that I am too much of a control freak to have it any other way.  Several other people across the blogosphere have also come to that conclusion.  This was my “secret project” I spoke of a while back.  Many of you guessed, or just noticed from seeing me in game so it seemed kind of silly to keep it a secret on my blog.

For those of you that are completely oblivious, or just don’t particularly care, I am no longer a member of Shadow Rising.  I have since founded a new guild.  At this time it is little more than alts, but as I mentioned above, once Cataclysm comes out I will be making it a raiding guild.  I want having fun to be paramount.  Downing shit will happen as a byproduct.  You do not need assholes to have a sucessful raiding guild.  I plan on proving that.

I will give you guys more information as the time gets closer to “opening the gates” as it were.  I am working on getting a website up and going.  I have a wonderful friend who graciously offered to create the site.  Thanks again hun!  I am also working with getting my own vent server.  I haven’t quite gotten the loot system fully situated yet.  I kind of want to see how the guild leveling thing will work out.  It will most likely be EPGP though.  I do like it and how it works.  I think I might tweek the way EP is earned though.

All in all I have high hopes for this project.

I want to say thanks again to the 30-40 people that still check this site daily.  I do love you guys for it!  I hope to be able to start putting more posts up.  My muse has kind of left me and I don’t want to just post “I’m sorry I didn’t post” posts up all the time.  Maybe now that the drama is over and things in my life are going well I will be able to post.

We shall see.

:D

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dozz
    Jul 22, 2010 @ 18:10:45

    I still read it

    Reply

  2. slopoke
    Jul 23, 2010 @ 06:33:35

    You are in my feed reader, so of course I am still reading :)

    I killed the Friday night thing a while back, it was just so frustrating to be reexplaining the fights every week, going 8-10/12 every week, and knowing we would never have the same group so we would never even try to get any further. I’m still happy we got to raid together again for a bit <3

    Reply

  3. slice213
    Jul 23, 2010 @ 08:07:17

    /blinks…..

    a post?

    What is this??? Shenanigans!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

