Bacon is win

No the post has absolutely nothing to do with Bacon.  I just like stating the obvious.

The re-vamped Shadow Rising has been tackling ICC 10.  A lot of our core raiders have taken a break and as a result we have several new raiders and raiders that have been gone for a while.  Several of these raiders have either never raided, never seen ICC or haven’t seen it in a long time.

This is now the 3rd week of raiding.

The first week only had 2 new people in the run.  We managed to 1 shot everything up to the Frost wing.  We didn’t go into there because we had people who had to leave, so we called it for the night.

Last week was a bit more rough.

Del’s brother Zincarla had never raided ICC.  The night we took down the Lich King was his first time in ICC.  In fact his LK kill was his first ICC achievement.  So the joke is we take new raiders and make them main tank the LK on their first time in ICC.  All things considered, he works at learning the fights and gets better with every attempt.

Last week he was tanking with Arv.  Now Arv is an amazing tank and is geared to the teeth.  It was easy to give Zin the “easier” tanking jobs while Arv was there.  Even then there is a learning curve for new tanks.

We also had some “new” dps.

We have a new guildie named Lion.  Great guy.  He follows directions and genuinely is working hard to be better.  He is a RL friend of our awesome boomkin Moogik.  His Ret Paly is his first 80.  He has never raided, and is still very new to the game.  Even despite that, he has already learned how to do his research.  We have been bringing him on every 10 man raid to get him the experience.  Each raid he does better.  He is also a really nice guy.  I can’t wait for him to get more comfortable with us and start joining in on the bantering.

We also have a rogue that has been in the guild for a long time.  He is still in high school so his play time is very limited.  He does a really good job with his dps, so that isn’t any kind of issue.  He just isn’t that familiar with the fights.  He has been to raids in the past, but still needs refreshers on what to do.  The best thing is you only have to ask him to do something once, (if that) and he does it.  For example on PP, he does a great job of vanishing during the transitions and can be seen whaling away on the professor.  Good little rogue.  He does tend to ask questions about his spec and rotations during raids, but I tend to chock that up to him being a kid.  I think Zug has been working with him on stuff so I have no question that he will just get even better than he already is.

Last week, as I mentioned above, was rough.  We were trying to work on achievements and failing.  It wasn’t that we had bad players, because we didn’t.  We just had new players.  People that are still getting geared up were with us.  The officers got together afterwards and just decided that it would be for the best that we just focus on gearing up the newer players and getting them familiar with the fights while trying to get everyone a Kingslayer title.  We would do mount runs once we got people more familiar.

Last night was a bit better.  There were rough spots again, but again it goes back to the learning curve.  Dozzer came back (his work had kept him from raiding for these last months) and he had to shake the rust off.  He tanked with Zin.  This put Zin in new tanking jobs.  Translation – He got to kite the slime on Rotface AND drive the abomb on PP.  Despite the hiccups, we still got the double slime weekly completed and took down PP on the 2nd try.  We couldn’t get him down last week.  I blame Slice and Sorak for that. ^_^

Instead of going to the blood wing after the plague wing we decided to head over to the frost wing to expose the new players to some more fights they hadn’t seen.

We also wanted to make Zari heal VDW :D

There were a LOT of problems with VDW.  I think close to half the raid either hadn’t seen the fight, or had been there as a different class.  Plus Zug kept trying to get the portal jockey achievement.  This meant he wasn’t outside slaughtering everything.  We did get her “saved” even though it was very sloppy.  I was dead so I really don’t know the full extent of how we managed to pull it off.  But it was onward to Sindragosa!

Have I mentioned how I hate her yet?

I am sure I have.

Actually I was VERY happy with how our attempts went on her.  Doz DCd after we took down Rimefang so we called a 10 min break and had the people not familiar with the fight go watch the video really quick.  When it was obvious Doz wasn’t coming back online (his HD died on him) Slice switched from holy to prot and we gave it a few shots to give people an idea of how the fight worked.

I was so proud that we didn’t chain ice tombs.  Let me repeat that.

Brand new people to the fight DID NOT CHAIN ICE TOMBS.

They also didn’t die to the ice blasts AND killed the tombs at the right time.

Even though I was in a tomb 3/4 times, I was cheering them on. :D

After the disaster that was VDW it was very refreshing to end the raid on such a positive note.  No we didn’t take her down, but I have no qualms that we will get her down fairly easily.

Now I do need to mention something.

Monday night (or rather Tuesday morning) I only got 3 hours of sleep.  The lunch I had was gross which resulted in me not having lunch.  When I got home I got online right away (I was raid leading, I had to) and thus didn’t have time to have dinner.

This resulted in a VERY cranky and VERY short tempered me.

On top of that I was raiding as Demo for the first time.  I was not comfortable with the rotation which meant I kept messing up.  This did not help with my irritation.

So partway through the beginning of the raid I stepped down as RL and Slice took over.

I want to just say I am sorry to the guildies who were in the raid with me.  I’m not nice when I haven’t eaten.  I hope I wasn’t too mean to anyone.

Except Doz, man fuck that dude.*

;-)

It got a little better once I got something to eat (honey nut chex FTW) during our break after lower spire, but I was still grumpy.

My reflections on Demo raiding are still not solidified.  I think once I get used to the rotation I will like it.  I will say that it is a HELL of a lot easier than Aff.  I also do a lot more damage/dps.  That part makes me really sad.  I don’t even have the rotation down correct (I keep forgetting to pop meta) and yet I am out performing my Aff spec where I have the rotation down.

The highlight for me was killing all the whelps in Sindy’s room.  I popped Meta, Immolation Aura and spammed SoC.  I peaked at 34,000 dps.

Yes, 34,000 dps.

I gave Zug a run for his money.

I know it was trash and it doesn’t count, but damn that was just fucking cool.

I also got a 31k soul fire crit on PP.

My best shadow bolt crit as Aff was like 19k.

I crit for around 20-25k on my shadow bolts as Demo.

Yeah, like I said, depressing.

It got better though.

After several Holiday boss runs Slice and I started helping Lion with his gear a bit.  He won the sword off Marrowgar and needed an enchant on it.  While helping him with that, Slice and I found out he needed some more TLC.

We hooked him up.

He is now fully enchanted out and had several gems replaced.  I went and got him the Valor bracers (he was using holy bracers).  He started out well over hit cap and below expertise cap.  He ended the night just slightly over each.  I think he is really going to start to notice a difference in his dps.  I pointed him towards a few Ret pallys in our guild and Slice has been working with him on his glyphs and rotations.  As I told him before I passed out.  He follows instruction and does a great job, the dps will come later with gear.

I might have also mentioned that helping him get decked out was like playing dress up with a doll.

But hey it worked out right?

Right?

*I just want to point out that I love Doz and am very happy he is back raiding with us.  We both like to give shit to the other so I have to give him shit when I can.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. slice213
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 12:55:05

    The title is misleading….i demand bacon nao!

    Reply

  2. repgrind
    Sep 23, 2010 @ 14:00:26

    I don’t know if they can handle both of us in the same guild. You do NOT want to see what I’m like when I haven’t gotten to eat.

    Sounds like you guys had a great night in there though! :D

    Reply

  3. Dilynrae
    Sep 24, 2010 @ 20:01:23

    It’s always fun to play dress up, especially when it helps the guild as a whole.

    Reply

  4. Njeri
    Sep 28, 2010 @ 11:12:25

    I need to get in on some of this now that I have my new compy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

