Excitement is building

When I came back to Shadow Rising after Sorak took over I was made an officer.  Since then Sorak, Slice and myself have been brainstorming about all the things we were going to do in Cataclysm.  The end result is I am very excited.

Shadow Rising has a bunch of very talented players.  I honestly think that we could be a force to be reckoned with if we put our minds to it. Our problem has been lack of players. We lose so many people to RL that it makes it difficult sometimes to keep on going.

This is by no means a recruiting post; Shadow Rising is not recruiting. It is just a statement of fact.

We did get lucky and got a really awesome player from the failed merge from several months back. He fits in rather well with our motley group of people and I am very glad to have him. We also got some new players to the game. One is a friend of our long time Boomkin Moogik and the others are friends of my brother. My brother is also a new addition to our raiding roster. Several guildies that left months ago are coming back for the expansion as well.

I am trying to keep hope alive that these people will come back and integrate with the now different tone of the guild.

Several weeks ago the officers got together and had a meeting. We discussed what we wanted from the guild and where we wanted to be. It was unanimous that we wanted to focus on raiding and push progression, but we didn’t want to be an uber hardcore guild. There would be rules and procedures clearly laid out. We would have a focus. I was loving it!

Then I stop and look at our roster.

We are very short tanks and healers who are not the same people. All of our healers are officers. Most of our geared & experienced tanks are also officers. On top of that, several of our very high dpsers are the same people. Since we are so short in our key roles these people (myself included) have to fill them. The result is people who have dps mains aren’t able to play those mains.

I used to enjoy healing on my druid, and I might continue to enjoy healing in Cataclysm, but right now I dislike it immensely. Unfortunately I have to heal because we need a healer. This has helped to get me burned out on raiding.

A few weeks ago I was able to raid on Lyssi and dps. Up until then I had been healing for the last several raid lock outs. I was sick and tired of raiding. I didn’t want to do it anymore. All I wanted to do was level my alts and be left alone. However I am an officer and I need to be there for my guild. I sucked it up and healed. Poor Slice had to bear the brunt of my burnout. It was not pretty. When Sorak told me I was going to be able to dps that night my entire mood changed. I actually wanted to be there and raid. Raiding became fun again. We even got another LK kill. In fact we almost 8 manned it.

In order to combat the above from happening to everyone Sorak said that we would end up rotating people. If they tank or heal one week then they can dps the next. I think this is a great thing. It keeps things a bit fresh so we aren’t always doing the same thing because we have to. Ideally it would be wonderful if we had more of our guildies fill these roles, but it is what it is.

Slice brought up an interesting thought today when we were talking. With the new people in the guild and the returning players (whom haven’t played with a bunch of us ever) we won’t have the synergy that we have built up with our current raiders. Is wiping to new bosses really the best place to learn that? Obviously we are going to have to discuss how we are going to handle that, but I am glad someone thought about it.

Now on to the excitement!

I am poised for the first time in my WoW playing history for being able to tackle content as soon as it comes out. In CoF/EoF I was late to the party. I showed up to the game too late in BC to be of any use and when Wrath hit the guild was pretty much dead. We were raiding Naxx when people were farming Ulduar, and even that was half pugged. When I joined Shadow Rising the first time they were banging their heads in ICC a wing behind progression guilds. Their alt run was still in ToC. Cataclysm is going to be different.

We already have the first raids on the calendar. There is a clear date when we have to be 85 and geared.

I couldn’t be happier.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nitedragon
    Dec 03, 2010 @ 09:13:54

    good luck. i miss the days of CoF raiding, we always had a good time.

    Reply

  2. slice213
    Dec 03, 2010 @ 09:54:52

    WORGEN HOWL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply

  3. repgrind
    Dec 03, 2010 @ 14:55:34

    Well, I’m committed to Friday-Monday on Alliance, but we’ll see about getting that hawt DK of mine leveled, that way y’all can at least have a standby tank/dps.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

