Sunday is for Archaeology

Or at least that is how it seems to go.

At first I wasn’t a huge fan of Arch.  It was kind of irritating going from one point of the map to another with no rhyme or reason.

Then one Sunday when I was online alone, it clicked.

I looked at all the dig sites on my map (I want the NE trinket so I have been sticking to Kalimdor) and worked out the best route to hit them all up.  I sort of made a large circle around the continent.

While doing this I realized something.

I could read the stuff in my feed reader while flying!

Now I play in windowed mode.  This easily allows to me to see who has logged into vent, who is pinging me on gchat and what that new email is.  In the past I have read my reader while playing, usually while on a flight path and it worked.  Now I was able to get my reader caught up while progressing my Arch.

The first day I did this I managed to go from 210 Arch (which is as high as I got from saving all my fragments from the initial survey to 100 arch) to 350 Arch in just a few hours.  On top of that I was relaxed.

I haven’t been very relaxed in game for a while.

Part of it is the stress over raiding (not the actual raiding mind you, but the admin behind it) and feeling like I have to be grinding so many things.  Some days I almost want to say to hell with raiding and just go and level 20 million alts somewhere else.  I don’t, obviously, but sometimes I would like to.  This is usually why I volunteer to sit out when we have too many dps.  I’m not allowed to, but I keep trying!

I have several alts that have professions that I want to utilize for my max level characters.  The downside is I have to level all of these alts and they are all in Northrend.  Frankly I am a little tired of Northrend.  At the end of Wrath I had 4 level 80s and 3 alts in Northrend.  Now I have yet another alt there.  At least she hit 75 this weekend.  Soon she will be able to hit the new Cata zones and I can get my volatiles!

Yes the whole reason behind leveling was to get volatiles.

They are expensive!  Especially for someone that doesn’t have toons who can easily get them.  My two 85s have tailoring/enchanting and skinning/leatherworking as their professions.  Yes skinning can get you a bloated stomach, but those are few and far between.  Right now the only things I can farm are the waters and fires and that just requires me to fish.

Speaking of fishing, we will be having a fishing tournament in Shadow Rising.  Right now Tel is working on all the details but there will be awesome prizes!  The idea was shamelessly stolen from Crits & Giggles but hey it worked for them!  I think we have under 3k fish fished up from pools.  Hopefully everyone will work towards winning this thing.

Part of me wants to level another alt to 75, but another part of me wants to continue with arch.  I only got 2 hours in last night.  Last week I got 5 hours in.  Yes those of you who have limited play time are all “what! 5 hours! crazy talk!”  But remember this is what I do with my free time.  I come home from work and log into WoW.  I spend most of my weekend playing WoW.  It is just how it works.  If you add up how much time I play during the week, it would probably make you sick.

Let’s do it just for shits and giggles.

I get home from work around 5 pm.  I am usually online by 5:30-5:45 pm.  I typically play until 10 pm or so.  When I log off depends on if Slice calls me or crashes out.  If he calls me I am off around 10, if he doesn’t I am online until around 11 pm.  So that is anywhere from 4 hours & 15 mins to 5 hours and 30 mins per work night.  This translates to 21.75 hours to 27.50 hours Monday – Friday.  This isn’t even counting the weekend.

I don’t want to think about the weekend. >.>

It is safe to say that I play at least double on the weekend what I play during the week.

I should have 20 level 85s at this point.

Anyway, I think I shall do more Arch tonight.  I got the mirror last night and I just know that I am close to the trinket. :D

Oh and I can easily see doing Arch again on Lyssi just because I like it.  This makes Sorak cringe and call me a masochist.  Well maybe I am, but I think his issue stems from him not “enjoying” every aspect of the game.

But that is a topic for another day.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. slice213
    Feb 14, 2011 @ 12:22:49

    /sigh…if you want to take a break from raiding say so! Don’t be so silly.

    And arch on 2 toons…indeed you are nuts.

    Reply

    • koalabear21
      Feb 14, 2011 @ 12:28:09

      I do and I don’t

      I don’t want the pressure to make sure I am uber awesome, but I still want to raid.

      Just kind of sucks because I know I need to do the other stuff in order to raid but doing them takes away from my raiding enjoyment.

      Reply

      • slice213
        Feb 14, 2011 @ 12:54:18

        Its the eternal struggle, in the MMO’s I have done in endgame…there is no way around the constant upkeep to keep raid ready etc. There is no way around it. Be prepared and thrive, or be a slacker and fail…the only 2 choices.

        Reply

  2. repgrind
    Feb 14, 2011 @ 13:26:35

    No wonder we get along so well. My schedule is pretty much … 5pm, rush home and log on. Log off at … well, I’m up later than you. At least midnight, usually 1. Weekends … wake up and log on. Maybe take a break to do laundry/grocery shopping/shower … important crap like that.

    And yes, a big reason for all of my alts is to farm mats/have professions/avoid the AH at all costs! My engineer priest is keeping his damn mining because an eng/miner is one of the best sources of volatile airs.

    My second archaeologist is around 148 skill so far. heh.

    p.s. Tyrande was a tomboy, the doll is a lie.

    Reply

  3. Shawndra
    Feb 15, 2011 @ 11:24:23

    My schedule is similar..get home at 2:30 hand out chore assignments and ask about school days on by 3/3:15 off by 9/9:30 (seriously, the first 2 hours are very punctuated, actual play time starts around 5)

    I have been very addicted to archaeology, too, working on the ring from Tol’vir digs and hoping for more than another toy from the elves (last thing I dug up was an amulet that turns me into a wisp).

    I hope you get that trinket before me. I’m thinking about taking a break from Kalimdor and visiting Outland to spice the digging up a little.

    Reply

    • koalabear21
      Feb 15, 2011 @ 11:36:12

      Last night I hit 525 and completed two artifacts from the Tolvir. I am currently working some sort of skeleton rare for the night elves. I am not sure what it is or what it does, but it is taking 150 fragments.

      I think I will eventually move over to the Eatern Kingdoms once I get my trinket. The bug definately has me.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

