Failmage returns!

Ahhhhhh, the glorious return of failmage!  Sometimes you just forget how much fun you can have blowing things up with fire. :D

 

My poor failmage got moved from Bloodhoof over to Skywall when Slice transferred his priest to play with Choice.  She spent the last months of Wrath farming herbs and making a killing on the markets on Skywall.  She did so well that I was able to get Slice a chopper for his birthday.  Times were good.

 

After Slice left Skywall and went back to Drak I stopped logging into failmage.  With no one playing on Skywall anymore there just wasn’t a reason to check on her.  I got caught up in the new and improved SR and just left her to rot.

 

Fast forward to this weekend.

 

Slice originally moved his mage over to Winterhoof to play with Rep’s Alliance guild; Sorak also followed and brought his rogue over.  Both of them are now raiding regularly with Crits.  I made a dorf lock and had been regularly leveling her to eventually be a back up raider for them.  I wasn’t in any rush though.  I love raiding, but I don’t know how well I would do with 4-5 nights of raiding a week.  Sometimes 2 nights is too much.  The lock was more just to be helpful than anything else.

I was leveling the baby lock on Friday night (punching Deathwing in the FACE!) and something got me thinking about failmage.  I’m not sure what it was but I started thinking that I should transfer her over to Winterhoof because nothing was ever going to happen on Skywall (despite our guild there) and if I was going to see the Alliance version of the new Cata zones any time soon it would probably end up being on Winterhoof.  I still have Millea over on Bloodhoof but I don’t really want to move her.  She is still a member of Echo of Fate and I kind of like knowing that I still have one toon left in that guild.

Since I was getting paid after midnight I had to wait until Saturday to set up the transfer.  I logged over to failmage and OMG all the crap she had in her bags.  She had tons of Wrath-era food (mostly fish) and other type stuff.  Like her bags were full of Wrath crap.  Not even stuff that could be sold for leveling.  Funny thing though, she has over 1800 JP left over from the end of Wrath.  This is, of course, awesome.  I cleaned up all of her crap, mailed off a bunch to my bank toon on Skywall and made the transfer.

 

I get to Winterhoof and Rep whispers me on Real ID “WTF 80 mage?” and promptly invites me to the guild.  Slice isn’t online yet so he has no idea what I’ve done.  Sorak is online but he decided to ignore me.  It isn’t like he isn’t on Real ID or anything, but I digress.  I usually start out in Hyjal then go to Vashj’ir afterwards.  I decided to start her out differently and send her straight to Vash.

Ok!  No problem!  I was in IF (I preferred it to SW prior to Cata) so I mount up on my mount (wondering the entire time why my bronze drake is greyed out) and hit the space bar to move up.

WTF?

/sigh

She didn’t have old world flying.

To make matters worse she had to get it in SW.

Good thing she is a mage huh?

I ported over to SW and had to run (*cries*) all the way over from the mage tower to the flying trainer.  Stupid SW and the stupid canals.  I finally get my flying trained and life is good!

I had yet to see SW as Alliance since Cata dropped.  It is actually really cool looking from the air.  Org was completely rebuilt so it was set up with flying around as the norm.  SW wasn’t.  You really feel like you are doing something special when you fly over it.  A part of me still can’t get over the fact that I can fly over the entire town and I don’t have to run through all the stupid canals and arches.  I have to catch myself when I start running on the ground.  It doesn’t help that my mount of choice is the Headless Horseman’s mount.

I was good and did remember to train my professions.  Found out that I was not maxed in first aid.  So I bought a bunch of Frostweave (man that stuff is expensive) and quickly leveled it to Cata levels.  I listed most of my Wrath stuff in the hopes of selling some of it (borean leather scraps sold, wtf?) and making back some monies.  I was sitting at under 100g after doing all of my training (and buying stupid expensive Frostweave) so I wanted to get back to a comfortable level.  I knew that questing would net me some good money so I headed out.

The intro to Vashj for the Alliance is quite different from the Horde version.  The little snippets of conversation from the NPCs is really neat.  You really get an idea of what their stance is.  One of the things I enjoy about playing both sides is seeing the different verbage on the quests.  It might be the EXACT SAME quest as you get from the other side but the what the quest says is completely different.  I’ve said it, others have said it, and it is still true, you just cannot get the full story without seeing both sides.  So seriously, if you haven’t leveled one faction or the other, do it.  Just to see the other side and understand the whole thing.

Right now the main thing I am looking forward to is the Alliance side of Twilight Highlands.

 

While I am merrily questing away Slice comes online.  I whisper him with “hi” (not on Real ID) and he says hi back.  I can tell he has NO clue who I am.  I give him a few then whisper him “and in 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 . . .”  LOL about 2 mins later you can see the lightbulb go off.  I laughed so hard.  He was all “In my defense I haven’t seen this name in a while.”  Excuses, excuses!  By this time I was already 81 and working my way towards 82.

I decided that I was only going to do the quests in Vashj up to unlocking the Earthen Ring Quartermaster then I would head out to Hyjal.  I had already replaced about half of my gear (she was in 4 piece tier 9!) and was already seeing a difference in how things were dying.  Now don’t get me wrong, I had already pulled a few failmage moments.  First was when I started questing in Vashj with my chef’s hat on.  I couldn’t understand why I was dropping in health so quickly and why NOTHING would die.  I just assumed it was because of my fail gear from Wrath.  Nope!  Failmage strikes again!  I honestly didn’t even know until I saw that I had a helmet as a reward and I was mousing over to see the stats.  Yup!  Chef’s hat.

/sigh

 

I already kind of fail because for some unknown reason I default to spamming Pyroblast when I am being hit in the face by a mob.  Yes this is stupid, yes I fail.  Trust me I know.  To this day I have yet to learn the mage class.  It isn’t like I didn’t level her from 1 to 80  in my fire spec (which I totally did) or that the spec changed (not really all that much from what I remembered) I just suck at mage.  The biggest thing that throws me off is Scorch; more specifically being able to move and cast Scorch.  It messes up my groove.  Moving is supposed to STOP my casting of the wrong spell, not ALLOW it to go through.  >.<

No I haven’t accidentally pulled with Scorch when I tried to stop it.  No, not me!

/facepalm

All things considered I really did end up having a blast.  Luckily I had the full rested (2 1/2 levels worth) XP bar and I was able to get to 82 (98% to 83) on Saturday night.  I dinged 83 on Sunday afternoon (when I woke up) and have since moved on to Deepholm.  I haven’t had this much fun leveling in quite some time.  Even with this being my 5th time through the Cata zones, doing it as Alliance has just enough of a change of flavor that I am looking at it with a whole new view.  Good times will be had!

 

As in the past, failmage will NOT be raiding.  I did a random dungeon (I got VP, I am kind of shocked it wasn’t Stonecore) and wasn’t doing too badly.  I wasn’t number 1 by any stretch of the imagination but I held my own.  Especially against that stupid hunter who couldn’t even trap correctly.  BTW when someone is assigning CC targets and says “banish one and freeze another” you DO NOT freeze the banished target.  ESPECIALLY when the targets are marked.  Stupid huntards.

I guess I just got spoiled by all the good hunters in my guild.

 

Anyway, failmage will not be raiding.  She might do some randoms here and there, but probably not.  She will be a farm bot to make me monies.  Without a tailor to feed I can use her transmutes to feed my need for gold.  Once I hit 85 on her I will switch the focus to the baby lock.  I need her inscription skills to pay my bills!

Hmm, looks like I just might be playing Alliance a bit more than planned.

 

Oh!  A funny thing happened on Friday night.  Zerl (whom I also have on Real ID, seriously who don’t I have on there?!) saw that a bunch of us were on Winterhoof and decided to roll a toon to play with us.  He made a baby pally to which Sorak teased him about being pink.  Note that Sorak is playing on a female toon, but I digress.  Apparently he ALSO transferred a toon over to Winterhoof.  I guess he had a level 70 (or 71, can’t remember) rogue on another server collecting dust and decided to bring it over to the Alliance side.  He had been debating on if he should bring it to Drak but ultimately decided on having a higher level alt on Winterhoof.  THEN as he was there on his rogue and I was there on my mage, Tel logs in on his hunter and Zari logs in on his priest.  We were just missing Arv, Zarm and Zug.  It was too funny!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. telanarra
    Aug 15, 2011 @ 16:16:16

    You don’t have me on Real ID and you never will. And speaking of zari how about the 20 mins or so it took him to get my hunters name. :)

    Reply

  2. repgrind
    Aug 16, 2011 @ 06:32:00

    OMG yes, the Twilight Highlands … is soooo much different on Alliance side. Anduin .. rowr .. and the dwarven wedding. OMG honey you are gonna love it. I had serious issues with the Horde’s attitude of ‘wipe them (the dwarves) out like the vermin that they are’ when the REAL enemy is Cho’gall and the Twilight’s Hammer. grrrr.

    You know you could just not take the talents that allow casting scorch while moving, ya?

    I’ve been all over Arv trying to get him to come to the Light. He’s got a little warrior … level 7 or something only. But it’s a start!

    Reply

  3. Raven
    Aug 16, 2011 @ 07:12:46

    Flying in SW…I can feel the pull *twitchtwitch*

    I may have to scrounge $10 just to see what I’m missing for a month….

    Reply

  4. khizzara
    Aug 16, 2011 @ 08:29:53

    I leveled up a Worgen Hunter a few months ago and it was awesome to see the other side of the story. Unfortunately, Deepholm and Uldum are pretty much exactly the same for both factions, which was a little boring. But OMG! Twilight Highlands totally makes up for it! The Alliance story in Twilight Highlands is completely different and very interesting. I’m sure you’ll love it!

    Reply

  5. zarigar
    Aug 16, 2011 @ 08:35:26

    lol at the chef hat

    Reply

  6. slice
    Aug 16, 2011 @ 10:07:04

    chef hat…..fail +2

    Reply

  7. Analogue
    Aug 17, 2011 @ 11:18:23

    If you level an awesome lock I’m totally kicking slice out of the raid for you. Of course you have to promise to give DI to me, never anyone else.

    I’m mostly joking Slice…

    Reply

    • koalabear21
      Aug 17, 2011 @ 11:22:16

      If it makes you feel better Ana I almost _always_ give DI to Zarm. The only time someone else gets it is when Zarm goes bear/kitty

      Reply

      • Analogue
        Aug 17, 2011 @ 11:25:03

        If we don’t have a shaman healing, I don’t even have the 5% raid haste buff. I want so much to gear for haste but there’s no point in reaching 2005 haste without one or the other of those two buffs….

        Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

