Legendary woes

Last night I finished the first part of the quest chain to get my awesome staff of awesomeness (see yesterday’s post if you have questions) and during the end of the raid I went to go complete the next step.  I was unaware of what I was going to be facing (I did want to be surprised) so I was surprised at how long it was taking me.  I actually had to tell the raid to go forward without me because it was going to take a LOT longer than I originally thought.

 

WARNING!  AHEAD ARE SPOILERS FOR THE LEGENDARY QUEST CHAIN.  IF YOU DON’T WANT TO KNOW THEN DON’T KEEP LOOKING!!!  ALSO!  DO NOT CLICK THE VIDEO LINKS!!!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Is this far enough down?  Ok!

So I zone into the “Nexus” (it has the Oculus loading screen so it threw me off) and start off.  After the 5th death I had to find a video to figure out what the hell I was doing wrong.

I found this one – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cQxVOSBR0HY of a mage completing the chain.  I found where I was doing things wrong and changed up my strats.  I was able to make it through the first hurdles then after some more dying (seriously I died like 10 or 12 times by this point) I figured out how to finish clearing to the final boss.

Now this is where I was having serious problems.  I saw how the cheating mage was handling the boss (spell stealing is cheating ok :-p) and I had to figure out how to compensate for it.  Everything that I was reading for warlocks was telling me to make sure I keep my dots up (well duh) and to drain life as much as possible to stay alive.  I also saw the tip to kite the flame down the ramp so that I could get a head start on the adds.  The adds seem to spawn a hell of a lot faster than the “every 60 seconds” BS that I keep hearing but whatever.  The nice thing with the adds is they won’t attack you until they reach the top of the platform.  If you are at the bottom of the ramp then you can dot up the add while it runs past you then drain life it dead as it is coming back to you.  This was working for me for about every other add.  I don’t know if my instance was just bugged or what but the adds kept coming pretty quickly.

Another issue I kept having was my puppy kept bugging out.  Since I need my pet to interrupt and dispell it was kind of important for him to NOT bug out.  On one attempt I didn’t have a pet bar!  I’ve been getting that error quite a lot lately.  Since I don’t use any UI modifying addons I don’t know why I’m having that issue.  The easiest way to fix it is to re-summon my pet.  Unfortunately sometimes doing that will bug out the pet to where he doesn’t move and doesn’t do any of his abilities.  From what others are reading (and telling me) this is a known issue and just something I have to deal with.

/sigh

Zarm was awesome and found a forum topic for me that is giving me some ideas – http://us.battle.net/wow/en/forum/topic/2973018600.  I had already thought about changing my spec a bit so now I have even more of a reason to adjust it.  I think I will also get my T12 gloves.  They aren’t part of my full 4 piece that I want but they are the only piece I can get without losing my 2 piece T11 bonus (which is rather nice).  From everything I am reading it is a long fight of attrition and every little thing I can do to ensure my survival needs to be done.

Slice sent me this video – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jMEVAMZMCxw&feature=related.  It is from an affliction warlock point of view (it is only the 2nd half of the place).  Found out what I was doing wrong on the ramp.  I was running down the middle because it didn’t occur to me to just kite along one edge then run up the other side until I could use my portal (yes I had my portal down).  So I will try that tonight.  I am hoping that will cut down on the time spent NOT draining life from the boss.

Once this part is complete then I get to move on to the NEXT part of the chain.  This part will require me doing stuff during the first four (Shannox, Beth, Rhyolith & Alysrazor) fights to charge some items.  Once I have four charged items I get to open a way to ANOTHER boss that luckily the entire raid gets to help me kill.  Once that guy is dead I will get the first staff.  I can’t wait for this staff as it is a nice upgrade from my current staff.  The one I have drops off Beth and has crit and mastery on it.  The branch has hit and haste.  Om nom nom nom!

Anyway, if anyone else has any tips or suggestions please feel free to leave them in the comments section!  Thanks in advance!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. slice
    Aug 24, 2011 @ 11:20:39

    Besides what I have sent. Have to be able to multidot and process a lot of info fast. The fight looks like a raid fight, except solo. Play like you do in a raid, dont play it like a normal quest mob. Difference in mental attitude can make the difference i guess.

    Ok smart ass reply – Dont die.

    One some what helpful and one smart ass reply. Also Sorak where iare the new photoshop pics?

    Reply

  2. repgrind
    Aug 24, 2011 @ 12:19:19

    He wasn’t at the raid last night. How can he photoshop if he’s not in a raid? Duh.

    Reply

  3. Analogue
    Nov 03, 2011 @ 09:55:14

    Reading through this again – ok, now that I’ve seen the fight some of this makes sense. I need to treat Boomkin like a “dot class”, I think. Kiting down the ramp should help a lot…. if I hot myself then, I should recover a lot of health. I think this will just take a long time…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

