Not gonna do it

I am still pissed about last night so I am not going to write about it.  I don’t need to be pissed off at work over something other than my boss.

So instead I will talk about something else.

Warlocks wanding and only using shadow bolt. >.<

Last night I was logged in at SR and was all excited because I had hit 62 and got Haunt and Fel Armor.  Orange had run me through the “live” half of Stratholme and I got a wand drop that I thought was cool looking.  Zambra pipes up about how wanding is his main source of dps. >.> NO NO NO.  You should only ever wand if you are out of mana, and since we are warlocks, WE LIFE TAP :D.  Even if we don’t get heals we can get our own health back without the healer.  Use a cookie or even just drain life.  Who needs healers right? 😉

He then went on to talk about how warlocking is boring.  BORING? *sigh*  He is only 42 so he doesn’t have all the fun stuff you get after 60, but still!

Shadow bolt

Unstable affliction (Use Immolate if you don’t have UA yet)

Corruption

Curse of Agony

Shadow bolt spam until a DoT needs to be refreshed (usually 1-2 at the lower levels)

Then use Drain Soul at 25%, refreshing DoTs as needed.

Please, please, please, please, PLEASE don’t just sit there and spam shadow bolt.  You might as well roll a mage.  Even then a mage has more stuff to pop up than just their one nuke.

I have found that in the lower level dungeons the same “GO-GO-GO-GO” mentality is as prevalent as in the level 80 heroics.  The bad part about that is these toons aren’t all in raid gear and in several cases DO NOT out level the instance.  Several of the people in group might not yet know how to function correctly in a group or they have never been in an instance.  Not everyone is an alt of a raider.  In this state of the game that we live in, we cannot use a “rotation” on stuff other than bosses.  If there are more than 2 mobs I spam Rain of Fire.  Once I get Seed of Corruption I will spam that instead.  If there are only one or two mobs, I will pick the one that the tank is currently whacking and use my boss rotation.

There is plenty you can be doing with an affliction warlock.  Wanding should never happen and you should never have mana issues.

I think I need to just watch Zambra play so I can show him how awesome locks can be.

NO WANDING ZAMBRA!

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. theerivs
    Feb 11, 2010 @ 11:51:56

    I’m rolling a Warlock right now on your server, to just shadow bolt ALL the time. In fact I’m calling BigBolter!

    Reply

  2. Ak
    Feb 11, 2010 @ 11:56:33

    Shadowbolting is for pussies.

    The real pros use Searing Pain.

    And that’s all.

    Reply

  3. Psynister
    Feb 11, 2010 @ 12:01:46

    Wanding sucks. After about level 15 that thing should never be used again on anything other than a priest healer who’s bored out of their skull because nobody’s taking damage.

    FORGET YOUR WAND EVEN EXISTS!!!

    Level 40 is where my lock really took off. I need to get back over to her for a while too…dang, so many alts I want to focus on right now, and so little time to play them all.

    I don’t cast Shadowbolt right now unless Nightfall procs either from my talents or my Glyph of Corruption. It’s all DoT’s, all the time, with Rain of Fire thrown in if all durations are up and I’m at full health and mana. Otherwise replace RoF with Life Tap to full followed by Drain Life to full, and then Drain Soul for the kills.

    My lock has no idea what “down time” and “boredom” mean. She’s always either casting spells or pulling more mobs to kill.

    Reply

    • koalabear21
      Feb 11, 2010 @ 12:14:04

      Him and I were mostly talking about boss rotations in dungeons vs mob killing while questing.

      In that case, for single target, yes you want to use shadow bolt spam.

      Reply

  4. Orangeslice
    Feb 11, 2010 @ 12:13:58

    W-A-N-D is pro!!!!

    Reply

  5. telanarra
    Feb 11, 2010 @ 14:58:52

    OMG the responses i could make

    i mean first off there is the whole the whole Zam just like playing with his wand angle which is weird since its a female toon.

    or the whole Ari really should be the only one Zam is wanding repeatedly angle.

    but there might be younger folk who read this blog. (if so i feel bad for there folks when the start asking them questions)

    but instead i will comment on the fact that spamming one spell seems to work for my pally 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

