Target switching and you

Some classes have great burst output. They have little to no ramp up time and just have this huge up front dps. It makes me sad in the pants when I see the opening numbers during boss fights.

Other classes have long ramp up times. They require some time to really get going for their damage output to shine. Heavy movement fights or fights with a lot of target switching is not good for their damage.

Keep this in mind as I babble here.

I have been very (and I do mean VERY) fortunate that I have a GL & RL who understand the concept of dps ramp up time. They have spoiled me and let me have the sweet spot dps places. For example: I don’t have to switch to bone spikes on Marrowgar, I get to stay on Lady D and dps down her shield, I get to stand in with the melee on Festergut etc.

Despite this, I will STILL switch targets when I am told I have to.

Bone spikes? Seed of Corruption.

Deformed Fanatics? Shadow Bolt

One thing I never complain about dpsing down are the Blood Beasts on the Saurfang fight.

It is the ranged dps’ JOB to kill those fuckers. You do not want them to hit you. Certain classes are pure win when it comes to killing these guys *cough*mages & hunters*cough*

Take a look at this list: 05/25 25 man blood beasts.  Make sure you are looking at “Damage by Actor.”

  1. Moogik the awesome boomkin
  2. a shadow priest
  3. an ENHANCEMENT shammy (I have no clue why an enh shammy was that high up there)
  4. a hunter
  5. ME
  6. another hunter
  7. a demo lock
  8. another shadow priest
  9. THE OFF TANK
  10. another shadow priest
  11. THE MAIN TANK
  12. another boomkin
  13. THE MAGE

and then you have Shirl before the rest of the melee shows up.

The healers are even up there.  We had a full 25 man raid, but only 23 people show up on there.  I don’t remember off the top of my head (and I am too lazy to go look it up) if the missing 2 people were healers or dps.

Now go look at this 05/25 25 man Saurfang.  Do you see that the same mage that was #13 on damage done to blood beasts is #2 on the overall damage?  The #1 damage dealer to blood beasts (Moogik) was #4 on overall damage.  Moogik switched targets, did a crap ton of damage to them, AND STILL managed to be #4 in overall damage on a fight that is very melee favorable.

Next up is last night’s 25 man run. 06/01 25 man blood beasts.  Again, look at “Damage by Actor.”

  1. Moogik again
  2. same shadow priest
  3. ME
  4. another shadow priest (higher this week than he was last week)
  5. another shadow priest
  6. hunter
  7. ENHANCEMENT shammy
  8. THE OFF TANK
  9. an elemental shammy
  10. a boomkin
  11. melee
  12. melee
  13. melee
  14. one of two mages
  15. then we have some pets (PETS!)
  16. two more melee
  17. (and the rest of the pets)

Notice the 2nd mage never showed up (no it isn’t the same guy as last week).  We had 10 ranged dpsers last night. Here is the total damage for the fight: 06/01 25 man Saurfang.

Not as obvious as last week, but still not that great.

Now go back to my original statement regarding burst dps.  Some classes have it in spades.  Others, not so much.  Notice which classes topped the damage on the beasts.  Notice how some of them are NOT known for their burst damage.

Hell just look at my numbers.  I have NO burst damage.  I still managed to be #5 and #3 on the damage on the beasts.

This should NOT be the case.

So as I am still frothing in rage over this (yes, seriously) I am going to leave you with this:

KILL THE FUCKING BLOOD BEASTS IF YOU ARE RANGED!  IT IS YOUR FUCKING JOB!

*cries*

25 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. slice213
    Jun 02, 2010 @ 16:42:50

    makes me sad that people cant think about more then the epeen dps.

    Reply

    • koalabear21
      Jun 03, 2010 @ 07:44:44

      You mean that winning recount isn’t what I am supposed to do?

      Reply

      • shieldbreakr
        Jun 03, 2010 @ 13:43:52

        If less raid leaders used recount/dps on WoL as a metric for “performance”, more mages would do their jobs. Right now, a lot of us are struggling post-IA to keep up with the “free cleave” classes. Doing our jobs, while rewarding loot, does not reward the mage, it makes them look terrible.

        Fortunately, fights like Saurfang are where we can really shine by destroying beasts faster than most other classes can even wind up a spell on them (holding back an MBr helps a lot =) ).

        Reply

  2. zarigar
    Jun 02, 2010 @ 16:48:15

    nerf Moog!

    Reply

  3. gravedust13
    Jun 02, 2010 @ 17:02:39

    HA HA HA!
    *Points at damage spike*
    COMBAT!!!

    …Wait, so what are these blood beasts everyone keeps talking about?

    >.>

    But yeah…. I’d take someone who does 7k DPS and follows direction to the letter and keeps his head up over someone who does 10k DPS and nothing else any day of the week.

    I’d go so far as to say that the peeps who only care about their DPS are actually worse than useless. The later ICC fights prove this again and again.

    And I don’t know what to say about Mooj… I keep trying to put Tricks on him (half convinced that the additional 15% would just make the server overflow or explode or something..) but he’s seldom in range…

    Reply

  4. zarigar
    Jun 02, 2010 @ 17:19:54

    I don’t have the bestest dps or the bestest computer but I always try to do as I am told. I don’t understand the people who just flat-out ignore boss mechanics just to make their dps look better. They aren’t helping out the raid. They are selfish and in it for…what? epeen? Because last I checked we don’t get loot based on dps numbers. You could argue that they are WORSE for the raid, since the people listening have to pick up their slack for them.

    Reply

  5. Tirael
    Jun 03, 2010 @ 05:43:49

    The priest that got better (well, one of them) on blood beast damage, was me (Naerityah is meh little hawt belf chica throwing mind flays up your ass). I just learned how to target switch faster and ramp up slightly quicker on blood beast (hint: only apply instant cast dots and use SW:D if off CD then mind flay until dead. ), then switch back to the boss.

    I am thinking about actually assigning a blood beast to a team dps (two ranged per beast).

    Reply

  6. Gazimoff
    Jun 03, 2010 @ 10:58:40

    Your mage needs a kick in the ass.

    Quite often I’m having to solo a blood beast in 10-man. I’ll chuck a Slow on him, arcane blast him down and maybe an AM if I get my MB proc. If the beastie gets close to me, I can hop back and kite. Easy.

    If you’ve got two mages that are letting the Boomkin and the shadowpriest do all the work, they really need a slap.

    Reply

  7. Kaylex
    Jun 03, 2010 @ 11:06:05

    So this made me curious.. and I went and looked at our parse from last week and found: #1- rogue (we leave a couple beasts for melee to kill while ranged gets the others) 2&3 are mages.. 4&5 are hunters.. then.. my “i need to ramp up my dps” boomkin ass is #6. All ranged SHOULD kill beasts here. Use your fast nuke and make them die.

    And as for the spriest discussion up there.. as someone that chronically has these things running at my face, I appreciate the movement slow from mind flay more then I care if you are doing any damage to it. You hold it, I’ll nuke it. kthx.

    Reply

  8. koalabear21
    Jun 03, 2010 @ 11:08:53

    I also want to comment that Moog roots the beasts constantly too.

    Forgot to mention that in the post

    Reply

    • Kaylex
      Jun 03, 2010 @ 11:15:17

      I used to.. but we have since discovered that people, even when told: DO NOT TOUCH THE GOD DAMN ROOTED ONE WITH THE FUCKING STAR ON IT’S HEAD (oh.. did i scream that in vent?) still manage to break it.. I was spending all my time trying to reroot and not burning them. SOOOO for our group it is more effective to have a dog pile of the 2 back beasts in melee (so all those guys can still do their aoe cleaves, FOK’s, consec or whatevers) and ranged eats the 3 in front. Have I mentioned we tend to be really melee heavy? LOL

      Reply

      • koalabear21
        Jun 03, 2010 @ 11:24:41

        How many marks are you guys typically getting?

        The main reason you don’t want melee touching the beasts is because when they hit you Saurfang’s blood power increases, thus bringing out the marks faster.

        Our run on Tuesday showed me getting a metric button of damage from the beasts. I think at one point I had 2 of them chasing me.

        Reply

        • Kaylex
          Jun 03, 2010 @ 11:56:31

          I dont think we are getting more then 3. I’m usually the first of second mark.

          Reply

          • Kaylex
            Jun 03, 2010 @ 11:58:15

            i fail at typing.. first OR second mark… but with melee burning them with aoe, they are going down so fast they arent having much of a chance to generate blood power. We do the dog pile method on 10 man too…

            /digs through the logs.. let me look again

          • Kaylex
            Jun 03, 2010 @ 12:03:47

            ok i lied.. last week we had 5 marks (but the 5th only had one tick before we downed him). It helps that we have an awesome heal team with 2 holy pallies, a disc priest, and resto sham and resto drood.

  9. trixyheleva
    Jun 04, 2010 @ 10:41:58

    I’d like to say, in my own defense, that I switch as quickly as possible in 25-mans. It usually takes 2-3 seconds for me to switch targets due to my craptastic system. 😦 Single-core processors FTL.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

