I have a SPARKLE PONY and I am NOT afraid to USE it!

That’s right, my roguelette hit 20 this weekend and she started using her sparkle pony.

The title of the post is what she yells each time she mounts up. 😀

When I hit 18 I got ambush.  I fricken LOVE this ability.  The first time I used it I crit for 333.  At level 18 that is nothing to sneeze about!  The downside is I have to have a dagger in my main hand and I was using a sword.  I had a dagger in my off-hand, so I switched them, but the sword has a higher dps.  Oh well.  Ambush is worth it.  I have another dagger in my bank for when I hit like 21 or something so I can change that out at that time.

Now I get to use poisons.  At 20 I only have instant and crippling available.  I was chatting with Soth last night and he said I should use both kinds.  I honestly don’t know what I should do, but hey why not right?  I bought a stack of each one.  Might as well 😀

When I hit 20 on my NE rogue I remember getting a quest that sent me into Westfall.  Of course this was when we had to level up poisons too.  I have a feeling the horde equivalent quest doesn’t exist anymore.  I haven’t checked out Org yet to see if there are any quests, but UC doesn’t have any.  If anyone knows about stuff I should be doing at this level please let me know.

The last time I spoke about my roguelette Pie mentioned in the comments that I should check out the rogue leveling guides from Slice & Dice.  I did and now I am leveling subtlety.  So far I like it.  His guides are pretty damn useful for the talents.  I need to look into them a bit more to see if the glyphs are listed on there or not.  Right now I am kind of flailing about on the glyph front.  I *think* I have a decent glyph on her, but I honestly could not tell you.

I am leveling her as mining/engineering.  I have only ever tried to level engineering on one other toon, my gnome warrior Koalabear.  Since she is only 21 or so, I never really got very far into it.  So far I am really liking it.  The training dummies have saved my life more often than not.  In fact I need more wool so I can make some more :D.  I can understand now why so many people level it.  It is a lot of fun.  The bombs are very useful when I end up pulling more mobs than I can handle.  I made my first pair of goggles last night.  Yes I know they are cloth and have spirit on them, but I didn’t have a helmet!  Plus they have stam on them.  More health is win!

What I think is funny is I refused to spoil this toon.  She was going to make it on her own.  Using only the seed money and bags I sent her.  This hasn’t stopped Slice from sending her greens he gets.  To be fair, I am having my mage, who is leveling alchemy, send her potions and stuff, but still.  She gets no help from my mains.  I am so used to seeing a bunch of self buffs up on the screen so it is odd when I am on her and there is nothing.  I finally got some sharpening stones to use on the weapons.  So those and the potions have been filling the void.  Now the poisons will take the place of the sharpening stones.  Woot!!

I have been trying to be smart on the stuff I can sell on the AH.  I know that certain engineering items are needed for quests so I have been putting those up when they are needed.  I don’t know if lower level ammo is worth it to make and attempt to sell.  Hopefully someone in the comments section will be able to tell me.

I have been thinking of selling the greens I come across, but I haven’t yet.  Drak has such an odd market because the server is so low pop.  I have just been sending everything to Lyssi to DE.  I think I will send the mats back to the roguelette to sell.  After all, she is finding the stuff, she should profit.

I am hoping I can get her some rested XP.  Slice has been sick so we haven’t played the caster duo lately.  Currently they are sitting at 16.  We keep getting distracted by the shinies.  I might end up playing the roguelette again tonight though.  I kind of want to see how the dual poisons work.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Psynister
    Jun 07, 2010 @ 09:54:40

    Horde side does have an equivalent quest, it sends you to a building near the mine in Northeast Barrens. I assume Org is where you get it since that’s the location, but it’s been a long time since I leveled a Rogue on Horde so I can’t remember for sure.

    A great way to keep yourself stocked up on poisons is to be sure to macro Pick Pocket to every ability you use when stealthed, including Ambush.

    And while we’re on the topic of Ambush, it’s not a bad idea to set up two sets of gear in the in-game interface that has your dagger mainhand for Ambush and your sword mainhand for regular combat. You waste a GCD after you break stealth, but that 1.5 seconds equates to 15 Energy so it’s not necessarily a waste, and you can switch weapons in stealth without breaking it so no loss there.

    You do get gold out of making ammo at high level, but pre-Outlands I’ve never seen any of it sell on the AH for any amount of profit. Quest items for loremaster are about as close as you’re going to get to making gold off of Eng pre-Outlands and you really aren’t going to see much return even then until post-Northrend.

    Reply

    • koalabear21
      Jun 08, 2010 @ 07:36:00

      Is doing the weapon switch really necessary at low levels?

      Reply

      • Psynister
        Jun 08, 2010 @ 09:20:15

        If you want to maximize your DPS, then yes. I didn’t say it was necessary though, I simply said it’s not a bad idea.

        If your goal is to just get by, then no. You can do just fine with a MH Dagger and OH Sword. You’re gimping your DPS but that’s not important if you’re not struggling. By the same token, leaving out stealth-only moves like Ambush is perfectly acceptable as well.

        Reply

        • koalabear21
          Jun 08, 2010 @ 09:28:12

          I pickpocket everything that I can.

          Drives me nuts when I see “no pockets to pick pocket”

          I get a frowney face

          I’ve been enjoying the stealth stuff. I also love Ambush, so it works out for me 🙂

          Reply

  2. Mashugana
    Jun 08, 2010 @ 06:18:24

    I’ve never quite gotten the hang of using stealth. Maneuvering around for an Ambush seems to take so long that rogue leveling feels painfully slow for me. Any tips or observations?

    Love the blog 🙂

    Reply

    • koalabear21
      Jun 08, 2010 @ 07:35:20

      Why thank you 🙂

      Umm I have stealth bound to the F2 button. So what I do is just run around like normal then when I get close I hit the F2 button and I am instantly in stealth.

      Since I am leveling Subtlety you get talents that increase your stealth speed. Plus Blizzard increased the movement speed. So if you haven’t played a rogue in a while it probably will be faster than you remember.

      I am by no means ANY kind of expert. I am still flailing about. >.>

      Reply

    • Psynister
      Jun 08, 2010 @ 09:24:42

      General consensus from Rogue levelers is to ignore stealth in the first place and just dual wield swords with a Combat build. Don’t bother with stealth, just run up and kill the mob like any other melee class.

      With a Sub build though, stealth is the niche you’ve chosen for yourself and in that case your best bet is taking advantage of speed boosts. You have a talent that helps you out, you also have the Enchant Boots – Minor Speed enchant, and you can do just a little bit of PvP to get the honor you need to purchase boots from the Arathi Basin vendor that increase your speed as well.

      The most under-utilized ability of a leveling Rogue is pick pocketing. If you take the time to pick pocket a whole group of mobs while stealthed then you’ll quickly begin to see that the “slowness” of stealth is sort of like the “slowness” of mail when making money on the AH. Sure, it’s not instant, but it definitely pays off in the end.

      If you just don’t like taking things slow though, run with a Combat spec and dual wield swords/maces/axes.

      Reply

    • gravedust13
      Jun 08, 2010 @ 10:02:14

      UNSOLICITED ROGUE ADVICE CORNER!

      Once you get Distract (Ought to be lvl 22) setting mobs up for Ambush or other stealth-related goodness becomes pretty trivial.

      Any mob caught in the radius of the effect will turn and look at the spot it went off at for 10 seconds. (Once can assume with a blank, stupefied look on their faces) It’ll also stop pathers in their tracks. You don’t always have to use it for attack, sometimes just pointing a mob the other way is a good way to get by if you don’t want to fight. Be aware that if you use it on a PvP-enabled mob, it will flag you.

      Reply

  3. Steezie E
    Jun 08, 2010 @ 09:06:43

    I have so many low level engineering components i never used that i should send you. Bullets are not worth anything until you start getting to the adamantite shells/ mammoth cutters.

    Reply

    • koalabear21
      Jun 08, 2010 @ 09:29:20

      You should have my rogue’s name from yesterday. I will whisper you in game the next time you are online and let you know. If not you can always send the stuff to Lyssi and I will forward it to the roguelette

      Reply

Leave a Reply

