Go go flying dragons!

Our weekly raid quest is Malygos.  Our guild has never successfully completed this raid.  In fact only 5 guildies even have the key.  4 of them no longer play/rarely play.  Dily has the key on his mage, but she is not his “raiding” toon anymore and thus doesn’t “really” need the frost emblems.  This is slightly problematic.

Luckily Blizzard make it to where you no longer need to clear all of Naxx to get to Sapp and KT.  So it looks like we will be heading into Naxx first to get some of our core raiders the key.  I am keeping my fingers crossed that I am the one who gets it on my tree.  If not me, then Vel on his shammy.  The two of us are in 99% of every raid.  If I am not healing, he usually is, or vise versa.  Dily has several different people he brings, Andrew is a good one to give it to, but sometimes he has to tank and other times he has to dps.  It isn’t ultimately up to me to decide, as much as I would like it to be.

I know that I just need Maly to get my title on Tatia, and I am pretty sure Millea too.  I know there are several other guildies that require this kill as well.  The last time we went in to do this most of us died right before phase 3 and the 2 or 3 that were still alive died right away.  The few of us that are familiar with this fight don’t play anymore.  So this should be interesting to say the least.

I have been running a thought around in my head.  I have in the last week or so helped several new warlocks with how I level.  I know there are a lot of great warlock guides out there, but I was thinking of writing up a how-to level warlocks Koalabear style.  Would you guys be interested in reading that?  Or should I just stick to pictures and long rambling rants?

I logged into EoF last night and was shocked at how few people were online.  Even the night birds were missing, which is really odd.  Kind of made me want to log off and go level my warlock.  I didn’t, but I wanted to.  I guess I am just back in the whole level grinding mode.  I got like this when I first leveled Millea.  It was so much fun to level that all I wanted to do was level her.  Unfortunately I am no longer just the nobody lowbie in the guild and I just can’t do that.  There are times where I wish I was back as the lowbie nobody, then I stop, laugh at myself and remind myself that I am too much of a control freak to ever be happy with that.

I just wanted to mention this last little tidbit.  When you are dolling out “advice” and “knowledge” about a class to someone who is playing it, please make sure you are 100% POSITIVE your advice is correct.  Even when the person tells you that what you are telling them is in fact contrary to what EVERY SINGLE BLOG AND ARTICLE on the topic tells you to do.  Especially then.  You might be “trying to help” a player who doesn’t have as much raid experience as you, but that doesn’t mean that they don’t know the first thing about their class.

For those of you now curious – Everywhere I read about resto druids it says that you need to have over 800 haste for the soft cap.  I was informed by someone that I only needed about 600.  I told them “I keep reading that I need around 800.”  “That is wrong, you only need 600.”

Read and weep

6. Typical PvE talent setup:

There are multiple restoration builds that can be customized to the job you do in raids (tank healing or raid healing) or adapted as necessary to specific fights, but the basics are usually the same. Due to the Gift of the Earthmother change implemented in patch 3.3, it is generally recommended that players spec into the balance tree for Celestial Focus if they are below the soft haste cap (856 haste). With 3/3 Celestial Focus, you need only 735 haste to reach the soft haste cap with raid buffs. If you are between 735 and 856 haste, you can drop one point in Celestial Focus for each 40 haste rating (approximate) you add to your gear, until you reach 856 and can drop the talent entirely.