DPS Survey

So I did the healing non-meme thingy, now there is a DPS one out from (http://dkdeathgoddess.blogspot.com/) so here I go with it!

What is the name, class, and spec of your primary dps?Millea, Affliction Warlock

 

What is your primary dpsing environment? (i.e. raids, pvp, 5 mans)

Mostly 5 mans, although we have had enough healers lately that I have been able to go on the 10 mans.

What is your favorite dps spell/ability for your class and why?

I love Haunt.  I love how it sucks your life away, then gives me a nice big heal at the end.  The added buffs to my other dots is really nice too 😀

What dps spell do you use least for your class and why?

I’m going to keep in the affliction tree because there are a bunch of spells that I don’t use that the other trees do.  I am going to say Seed of Corruption.  I mostly don’t use it because I forget I have it.  I am so used to just spamming Rain of Fire that popping out a few Seed of Corruptions doesn’t come to me.  Although I am getting better at it.  We did a heroic Oculus run the other night (right after Ulduar mind you) and I used it on all those irritating whelps in the first part of the dungeon.  Seeing all those numbers flying up was awesome.

What do you feel is the biggest strength of your dps class and why?

Our ability to be self sufficient, especially affliction locks.  I can life tap to regain mana, and then Haunt and the Siphon Life effect heal me, on top of my Fel Armor.  I routinely tell the healers that they usually do not need to heal me unless I have major aggro and am taking more damage than normal.  I don’t want the healers to feel like I am using their mana bar to refill mine.

What do you feel is the biggest weakness of your dps class and why?

 Affliction warlocks really lack the burst damage.  I will get put on things that have to die quickly, and I just cannot get them down fast enough.  I am built for taking you down one DoT tick at a time.  The longer I have, the more damage you have done to you.  Having me kill the bomb bots on XT just doesn’t work as well as one would think.  I am also not so great with the webs in Naxx.

In a 25 man raiding environment, what do you feel, in general, is the best dps assignment for you?

The boss.  As I mentioned above, I don’t have burst damage ability.  If I can sit there and drain away on the boss, I will rock your socks off.  Don’t put me on adds, and I don’t have much raid utility (outside of imp sb).  I am made to kill bosses, and I do it quite well I might add.

What dps class do you enjoy dpsing with most and why?

I love me some elemental shammies.  Their delicious totems help with my dps big time.  I don’t like how they always pass me on the meters, but there are a few times I can beat them 😀

What tanking class do you enjoy dpsing with least and why?

Other warlocks and mages.  It is purely a competitive thing on my part.  I only like other warlocks if I can beat them.  I dislike how my damage sucks on the overall meter when compared to mages, but I LOVE how I usually beat them on the boss fights.  It does make them cocky though.

What is your worst habit as a dps?

Pulling aggro.  The rule is the lock has to die.  I somehow manage to pull aggro off the best tank.  I always wait before I let loose.  Hell most of my spells take a moment to even build up aggro, but I still manage to pull it off.  WTB better soul shatter.

What is your biggest pet peeve in a group environment while dpsing?

People asking me for a table, or telling me that my overall dps sucks.  People expecting me to have better burst damage.  I AM NOT A MAGE!!! FFS.

Do you feel that your class/spec is well balanced with other dps?

I do.  We might not bring a lot of utility to the raid, but what we do bring is lots and lots of damage.  I usually am close to the top with overall damage on boss fights, where it counts. 

What tools do you use to evaluate your own performance as a damage dealer?

I check recount.  I look to see how badly I am clipping DoTs, and my DoT uptime.  I look to see if I beat the mage and rogue.  (Nerf rogues please! :p)

What do you think is the biggest misconception people have about your class?

That I am a mage.  I AM NOT A MAGE!!!  Destro locks come close, the wannabe mages, but I am not destro.

What do you feel is the most difficult thing for new dpsers of your class to learn?

How to keep your DoTs in order.  How not to clip them, and how to keep them up.  Affliction is a lot easier than it used to be, but it still takes practice.

What dps class do you feel you understand least?

Rogues.  I dislike playing them.  Despite Andrew telling me how you just “Press 1, then press 1, then press 1, then press 1, then press 3, then press 1, then press 1, then press 4, then press 1 etc” I can’t get into their playstyle. 

What add-ons or macros do you use, if any, to aid you in dps?

Umm other than recount, nothing.  I know I am supposed to be using Omen, but I could never understand it, so I haven’t downloaded it.  The built in threat meter in the game works well for me.  I am sure Mis will be unhappy about this, but since he pulls shit on me while I am healing him, it is only fair game ^_^

Strength over other stats or balanced stat allocation, and why?

I love me some spellpower and haste.  They are oh so yummy.  The more spellpower the better.  Spellpower gives me the oomph I need and haste speeds up my casts.  The more haste I have, the more Shadowbolts I can get off before I have to refresh Haunt.

So I need to tag someone, ummm how about http://arrens.net/ and http://clearcasting.wordpress.com/

Go go!!

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Hinenuitepo
    Nov 10, 2009 @ 09:23:09

    Nice work, Millea!
    Yes, Haunt is definitely one of the better new spells for Lich King.
    My lock made it to 73 before stalling…… some day I’ll have to pull him out and get him to 80.
    Funny about Seed. I remember raiding BT and Sunwell on my lock and that was THE aoe spell. Raid of Fire? WTH ;P

    Nice to see some more dps out there. I’ll add your link to my DPS questionnaire post! If your folks you tagged fill it out, have them comment for me so I can add them as well!

    Reply

  2. Cynwise
    Nov 10, 2009 @ 09:31:19

    Omen can help a lot with managing your aggro. I didn’t use it for a long, long time, but have found it to be very useful in reducing the number of times I pull aggro from the tank. Warlocks have a strong argument for having the worst aggro-dump tools in our class abilities, so not pulling it in the first place is about all we can do.

    Reply

    • koalabear21
      Nov 10, 2009 @ 10:02:27

      My problem is I can’t understand how the damn thing works. When I first started playing my friend had me install it and use it while I leveled, and I couldn’t figure it out.

      Off and on while playing I have tried using it, and I don’t like it. Don’t like how it doesn’t make sense to me.

      I just need to find something else that works

      Reply

  3. anexxia
    Nov 10, 2009 @ 09:42:31

    This looks like a fun meme to write up when I get home. Thanks for sharing it!

    Reply

  4. theerivs
    Nov 10, 2009 @ 14:52:30

    Locks get asked for tables. LOL! thats rich

    Reply

    • koalabear21
      Nov 10, 2009 @ 15:08:44

      You have no idea how often I get mistaken for a mage. This is even with my demon out.

      I don’t know how people rationalize it, but it happens far too often.

      Reply

  5. Slopoke
    Nov 11, 2009 @ 07:27:21

    Hey! I was stumbling around in the blogosphere and landed here…

    I know you!

    /waves

    Reply

  6. Trackback: Grr…Memes… | Through the Eyes of Death
  7. Trackback: World of WarKrack » Archive » A new blogger survey, this time for DPS
  8. Trackback: A new blogger survey, this time for DPS | The Frozen Gnome
  9. Spazmoosifer
    Nov 13, 2009 @ 21:04:37

    Came across this thanks to WoW.com, and decided to join in with the fun, seeing as how I participated in the “Circle of Healing” posts as well.

    Stop on by my “Circle of Killers!” post at: http://spriestblog.weebly.com/1/post/2009/11/circle-of-killers.html

    Reply

  10. Trackback: A new blogger survey, this time for DPS | World of Warcraft Blogger
  11. Sean
    Nov 14, 2009 @ 08:01:25

    Saw that you said you weren’t using any mods besides Recount. No DoT timers? Nothing like Quartz even? If you want to help yourself manage DoTs effectively I would look into Quartz at least.

    Reply

    • koalabear21
      Nov 14, 2009 @ 13:45:14

      I’m not big on add-ons doing a lot of my job for me, at least with dps.

      Since I am not in a raiding guild I don’t really need to suck out every last drop of dps I could be.

      I do pretty damn good considering everything. Thanks for the tip though 😀

      Reply

  12. Trackback: A new blogger survey, this time for DPS | zacsgames.com
  13. Trackback: A new blogger survey, this time for DPS | Senility Guild

Leave a comment